The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions
David Krueger and Herald staff |
Published: Friday, June 8, 2012, 12:01 a.m.

Everett SD athletes honored at Athletic Awards Night

Jackson's Sam Brown, Everett's Jody Barhanovich win Athletes of the Year

MILL CREEK -- There was a new name and a new venue, but the quality of the student athletes in the building hadn't changed at all.

The Everett School District Athletic Awards Night (formerly the Walsh-Platt Scholarship) took place at Jackson High School Thursday night, to honor some of the best student athletes at Cascade, Everett and Jackson high schools. It was the 50th year for the event, but the first under the new name.

For a full list of winners and nominees, click here.

"Times change," said Dwayne Lane, the founder of the local auto stores which sponsorered of the event. "It was time to come up with a new program."

Lane praised the new format, because it honored more athletes, including three-sport letter winners and individual state champions.

The big award for the night was the Dwayne Lane Athlete of the Year Award. The winners were Sam Brown of Jackson, and Everett's Jody Barhanovich.

Brown earned nine varsity letters in his high school career, playing football, basketball and baseball for the Timberwolves. He was nominated by his basketball coach, Steve Johnson.

"It's definitely a great honor," Brown said of the award, which carries a $1,000 prize. "This room's full of great athletes. I feel blessed to win."

Barhanovich tallied 12 varsity letters while playing volleyball, basketball and golf at Everett. Barhanovich's sister, Nicole, won the award when she was in sixth grade, and that moment motivated Barhanovich to try to win the award herself.

"I've always wanted to win it, and keep it in the family," Barhanovich said. "It's awesome. It's a big honor."

The Walsh-Platt award has been given to top local student athletes since 1962. Lane took over the event when he bought out Walsh-Platt motors, and continued the tradition. The program was expanded this year, and renamed the "Everett School Distric Athletic Awards Night."

"It's a wonderful event for the Everett School District to have all three competitors come together in athletic acknowledgment," Lane said. "They compete against each other all year and a the end of the year they're all together and all friends.

"They're all winners."

A Coach of the Year was also selected from each school. Eric Smith (Cascade boys swimming), Casey Chaffee (Everett softball) and David Hutt (Jackson boys tennis) won the awards from their respective schools.


Award winners

The award winners, and nominees at the 2012 Everett School District Athletic Awards Night, held Thursday night at Jackson High School.

Dwayne Lane’s Athlete of the Year Nominees
Cascade – Ryan Bishop, Tay’lor Eubanks, Kiana Hood and Megan Miller.
Everett – Jody Barhanovich, Jared Heman, Mattson Overstreet and Brendan Soelling.
Jackson – Sam Brown, Megan Cooley, Blake Nelson and Kristin Stoffel.

Fall 2011 Scholar Athlete Award Winners
Cascade – Ryan Bishop & Jessica Parejo
Everett – Jody Barhanovich & Andrew Dickson
Jackson – William Chan & Megan Cooley

Winter 2011-2012 Scholar Athlete Award Winners
Cascade – Kiana Hood & Hunter Hudson
Everett – Jody Barhanovich & Shawn Franklin
Jackson – Kristin Stoffel & Trevor Waite

Spring 2012 Scholar Athlete Award Winners
Cascade – Devin Bell & Courtney Smith
Everett – Mason Newton & Maricris Taja
Jackson – Kelsey Fruland & Luke Hong

2012 Cliff Gillies Award Winners
Cascade – Annie Stavang & Brian Janner
Everett – Riley Ayers & Makayla Fox
Jackson – David Blackmer & Claire Grossvenor

2012 Three Sport Letter Winners
Cascade – KJ Brady, Garret Gebhardt, Victor Haurholm, Kiana Hood, Emily Mallos, Colin Maltby and Katie Weir.
Everett – Christopher Aiworo, Connor Boyce, Jody Barhanovich, Mattson Overstreet, Evan Overstreet, Cole Havener, Rosalie Sittauer and Rayme Rogge.
Jackson – David Blackmer, Sam Brown, Brooke Kingma, Mary Charleson and Jessica Rawlins.

2011-2012 Individual State Champions
Cascade – Tay’lor Eubanks (track and field, triple jump)
Everett – Justine Palabrica (wrestling), Jessie Lopez (wrestling) and Calea Carr (track and field, discus)
Jackson – Kyle Cornett (golf)

2011-2012 Coach of the Year
Cascade – Eric Smith (boys swimming)
Everett – Casey Chaffee (softball)
Jackson – David Hutt (boys tennis)

2011-2012 Dwayne Lane Athletes of the Year
Sam Brown (Jackson) & Jody Barhanovich (Everett)

Like our high school sports page on Facebook, follow @HeraldNetPreps on Twitter and look for updates on our Prep Zone blog.

Story tags » Cascade High SchoolEverett High School Jackson High School

Subscribe to High school sports
See sample | Privacy policy

Most recent Prep Zone posts

» More high schools
HeraldNet Classifieds