The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions
David Krueger and Herald staff |
Published: Tuesday, June 26, 2012, 1:50 p.m.

Boys soccer all-state teams announced

The Washington State Soccer Coaches Association announced the All-State 2012 Spring Soccer Teams on Tuesday and a number of local players were honored.

In Class 4A, Snohomish forward and The Herald's Boys Soccer Player of the Year Reilly Cross and teammate defender Brendon Wheeler were selected to the first team. Their teammate, defender Juan Machuca Garin, was named to the second team.

In 3A, Glacier Peak forward David Linney and Shorewood defender Dodge Schaeffer and goalkeeper Daniel Nadeau were named to the first team. Four other Shorewood players were honored, including midfielder Eugene Holley and defenders Sam Jang and Matthew Pettersen with second-team selections.

Four Archbishop Murphy players were named to the 2A first team, including Aidan Huggins (forward), Josh Bartley (midfield), Alex Kramer (defender) and Nick Ulowetz (defender). Their teammates Jalen Crisler (midfield) and Jake Flanigan (defender) were honorable mention. South Whidbey forward Noah Moeller was also honorable mention.

Here's the complete list of all-state selections:

2012 WSSCA All-State Teams

MVP: Miles Rodriguez-Nilson, Midfield, Central Kitsap
Coach of the Year: Jennifer Johnson, Skyview
First Team
Forwards: Jordan Thompson, Newport; Reilly Cross, Snohomish; Kurtis Pederson, Bellarmine Prep; Alex Shane, Issaquah. Midfielders: Miles Rodriguez-Nilson, Central Kitsap; Sean Price, Skyview; Jacob Thoreson, Thomas Jefferson; Sean Rigney, Federal Way. Defenders: Eli Peterson, Kentwood; Luke Logan, Emerald Ridge; Brendon Wheeler, Snohomish; Cole Howard, Skyview. Goalkeeper: Eric Bottjer, Bellarmine Prep.
Second Team
Forwards: Timur Zhividze, Evergreen; Michael Rector, Bellarmine Prep; Rene Solorio, Chiawana; Andrew Leadbeater, Redmond. Midfielders: Juan Machuca-Garin, Snohomish; Christian Rath, Puyallup; Jordan Kollars, Central Kitsap; Corey Taisey, Mead. Defenders: Chris Stokesbary, Central Valley; Baxter Hagan, Inglemoor; Jhony Mendoza, Davis; Nathan Wooden, Skyview. Goalkeeper: Collin Partee, Union.
Honorable Mention
Forwards: Jordan Downing, Tahoma; Anthony Johnson, Marysville-Pilchuck. Midfielders: Hayden Schuh, Skyview; Pedro Miola, Skyline; Madison Heck, Eastlake; Bryce Schomburg, Roosevelt. Defenders: Luke Hong, Jackson; Adam Smith, Bellarmine Prep; Garrett Brewer, Federal Way. Goalkeeper: TJ Josephson, Puyallup.

MVP: Jordan Morris, Midfield, Mercer Island.
Coach of the Year: George Vukic, Bainbridge
First Team
Forwards: Michael Klavuhn, Decatur; Heath Sowers, Ferndale; David Linney, Glacier Peak; Mauricio Perez, Eastmont. Midfielders: Jordan Morris, Mercer Island; Michael Crowley, Bainbridge Island; Chris Peterson, Wilson; Joel Villa, Eastmont. Defenders: Wyatt Brown, Camas; Isaac Sappington, Pasco; Angel Garcia, Kennewick; Dodge Schaeffer, Shorewood. Goalkeeper: Daniel Nadeau, Shorewood.
Second Team
Forwards: Alex Wood, Mercer Island; Conner Winship, Bainbridge Island; Igor Shapoval, Prairie; Bryce Joling, Capital. Midfielders: Sebastian Scales, Bainbridge Island; Eugene Holley, Shorewood; Geo Vazquez, Kennewick; Ngawang Choephel, Mt. View. Defenders: Conner Hall, Hazen; Spencer Smith, Decatur; Matthew Pettersen, Shorewood; Sam Jang, Shorewood. Goalkeeper: Jason Bauknecht, Peninsula.
Honorable Mention
Forwards: Javier Gomez Mora-Rey, Marysville-Getchell; Cole Madden, Peninsula; Adam Allison, Camas; Abel Madrigal, Chief Sealth; Sam Bunnell, Hazen. Midfielders: Hayk Avanesyan, Shorewood; Jimmy Hong, Dectur; Derek Zimmerman, Pasco; Brandon Brooks, Mt. View; Mori Tsuchiya, Chief Sealth; Jesse Esquivel, West Valley. Defenders: Edgar Dominguez, Pasco; Juan Rodriguez, Eastmont; Alex Bell, Mount Vernon; Griffin Stout, Kennedy. Goalkeeper: Daniel Romero, Eastmont.

MVP: Cesar Esquivel, Forward, Fife.
Coach of the Year: Tony Crudo, Fife.
First Team
Forwards: Cesar Esquivel, Fife; Aidan Huggins, Archbishop Murphy; Kevin Weyand, Tumwater; Spencer Wolfe, Squalicum; Arie Vanderstaay, Bellingham. Midfielders: Nathaniel Gunderson, Tumwater; Josh Bartley, Archbishop Murphy; David Starkovich, Squalicum; Jimmy MacQuarrie, Sehome. Defenders: Alex Kramer, Archbishop Murphy; Nick Ulowetz, Archbishop Murphy; Will Lewis, Bellingham; Evan Cook, Cheney. Goalkeeper: Auden Schilder, Bellingham.
Second Team
Forwards: Austin Snyder, Tumwater; Connor Sigmon, Tumwater; Arturo Torres, Lynden; Forester Seipp, Cheney. Midfielders: Adam Smiley, Squalicum; CJ Skillingstad, Cheney; David Abbott-Smith, Sehome; Lorenzo Ramos, Fife. Defenders: Cameron Shockley, Franklin Pierce; Andrew Saavedra, Tumwater; Jake Haggen, Sehome; Jonny Gundersen, Centralia. Goalkeeper: Devon Dieckman, Tumwater.
Honorable Mention
Forwards: Noah Moeller, South Whidbey; Juan Lopez, Aberdeen; Victor Lopez, Toppenish. Midfielders: Jorge Campos, Othello; Landgon Roscoe, Hockinson; Albert Carrillo, Fife; Jalen Crisler, Archbishop Murphy. Defenders: Isaac Bogart, Lynden; David Papenfus, Interlake; Chad Spady, Burlington-Edison; Will Mortell, Sumner; Jake Flanigan, Archbishop Murphy. Goalkeeper: Jordan Hadden, North Kitsap.

MVP: Jesse Klug, Forward, Overlake
Coach of the Year: Bob Bristol, Overlake.
First Team
Forwards: Jesse Klug, Overlake; Victor Moreira, Vashon; Alejandro Angulo, Chelan; Grant Fremmerlid, Seattle Christian. Midfielders: Tanner Konkright, Ridgefield; Dean Poplawski, Overlake; Eleazar Galvan, Chelan; Jared Williams, Ridgefield. Defenders: Miller Grening, Ridgefield; Joe Dolack, Overlake; Nick Gass, Vashon; Mac Hewitt, Overlake. Goalkeeper: Conner Fremmerlid, Seattle Christian.
Second Team
Forwards: Jesus Guiterrez, Highland; Taylor Konkright, Ridgefield; Israel Fernandez, Hoquiam. Midfielders: Josh Gehrke, Seattle Christian; Rickey Zamudio, Rochester; Alex Barsher, Seattle Academy. Defenders: Sean Powell, Seton Catholic; Luis Rivera, Wahluke; Cory Kuta, Seattle Christian; Juan Garcia, Chelan. Goalkeeper: Nevin Thompson, Colville.
Honorable Mention
Forwards: Steven Dressler, Cedar Park Christian; Connor Freeman, Seattle Academy; Erik Powell, Seton Catholic. Midfielders: Ezra Koenig, Vashon; Austin Baucom, Seattle Christian. Defenders: Osiel Rivera, Hoquiam; Julio Vera, Chelan; Alex Myrick, Royal City. Goalkeeper: Ruben Medina, Chelan.

*Voted on by Washington State Soccer Coaches Association members and other high school coaches across the state of Washington.

Subscribe to High school sports
See sample | Privacy policy

Most recent Prep Zone posts

Share your comments: Log in using your HeraldNet account or your Facebook, Twitter or Disqus profile. Comments that violate the rules are subject to removal. Please see our terms of use. Please note that you must verify your email address for your comments to appear.

You are logged in using your HeraldNet ID. Click here to update your profile. | Log out.

Our new comment system is not supported in IE 7. Please upgrade your browser here.

comments powered by Disqus
» More high schools

HeraldNet Classifieds