The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions
Herald staff | needtoknow@heraldnet.com
Published: Sunday, July 15, 2012, 12:01 a.m.

Vote-by-mail ballot-return patterns

  • CLICK ON PDF BELOW TO DOWNLOAD

    CLICK ON PDF BELOW TO DOWNLOAD

The ballots are coming, the ballots are coming. On Thursday, nearly 400,000 of them will be mailed to voters in Snohomish County for the Aug. 7 primary. County officials are able to predict when ballots will be returned based on past elections. The return flow has been pretty much unchanged since 2006, when the county switched to all-mail balloting. Below is a chart of when Snohomish County expects to receive ballots for this primary. You can also download the PDF at right to see a more visual representation of the prediction.

Within a week of their mailing, about 25 percent of ballots will be marked and returned for counting. Nearly half the votes will be cast before Election Day.

Figures in the chart are based on 400,000 ballots being issued and 176,000 returned for a turnout of 44 percent.

By law, ballots received more than 14 days after the election will not be counted, leaving as many as 136 uncounted.

If you are wondering why ballots are mailed Thursday but the county won't start tracking their return until next Monday, July 23, the answer is because the county is closed on weekends. What arrives Saturday is not picked up until Monday.

Implications for campaigning


How fast do you send back your ballot for counting? Right away? On Election Day? Somewhere in between? Turns out voters do it all three ways, adding a degree of difficulty for candidates trying to reach them at just the right time.

When everyone voted at polling places, there always seemed to be a concentration of mailers and commercials in the final four days of the election as candidates sought to make a final impression on voters. With everyone voting by mail and half the votes cast before Election Day, candidates carefully time advertising and direct-mail campaigns to reach the most people near the time of their decisions.

Track your own ballot


You can find out when your ballot is received. A link will be added to the Snohomish County elections home page at www.snoco.org/elections.

Projected pattern of ballot return, 2012 primary election


DateBallots expected
Monday, July 23, 20121,046
Tuesday, July 24, 20129,671
Wednesday, July 25, 201211,985
Thursday, July 26, 201213,416
Friday, July 27, 20127,897
Saturday, July 28, 20120
Sunday, July 29, 20120
Monday, July 30, 20129,550
Tuesday, July 31, 201212,555
Wednesday, Aug. 01, 20129,249
Thursday, Aug. 02, 20127,503
Friday, Aug. 03, 20127,495
Saturday, Aug. 04, 20120
Sunday, Aug. 05, 20120
Monday, Aug. 06, 201214,888
Tuesday, Aug. 07, 201223,822
Wednesday, Aug. 08, 201231,896
Thursday, Aug. 09, 201213,085
Friday, Aug. 10, 2012799
Saturday, Aug. 11, 20126
Sunday, Aug. 12, 20120
Monday, Aug. 13, 2012157
Tuesday, Aug. 14, 2012275
Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2012104
Thursday, Aug. 16, 2012104
Friday, Aug. 17, 2012357
Saturday, Aug. 18, 20120
Sunday, Aug. 19, 20120
Monday, Aug. 20, 20125
Tuesday, Aug. 21, 2012116
Wednesday, Aug. 22, 201217
Thursday, Aug. 23, 20123
Friday, Aug. 24, 20120
Saturday, Aug. 25, 20120
Sunday, Aug. 26, 20120
Monday, Aug. 27, 20120
Tuesday, Aug. 28, 20120
Total for 44% turnout176,000


SOURCE: Snohomish County Auditor
Story tags » Elections

Subscribe to Daily headlines
See sample | Privacy policy

Most recent Need to Know posts

No recent blog posts for the past 180 days.

Share your comments: Log in using your HeraldNet account or your Facebook, Twitter or Disqus profile. Comments that violate the rules are subject to removal. Please see our terms of use. Please note that you must verify your email address for your comments to appear.

You are logged in using your HeraldNet ID. Click here to update your profile. | Log out.

Our new comment system is not supported in IE 7. Please upgrade your browser here.

comments powered by Disqus
digital subscription promo

Subscribe now

Unlimited digital access starting at 99 cents, or included with any print subscription.

loading...
HeraldNet Classifieds