The Herald of Everett, Washington
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up | Manage  Green editions icon Green editions


Prep sports headlines
HeraldNet Newsletter Delivered to your inbox each week.
Published: Monday, March 11, 2013, 9:11 a.m.

All-Area Boys Basketball Teams

Player of the Year
Jason Todd, Jackson, Jr.
The Timberwolves wing was a steady force for perhaps the steadiest team in the state. Todd averaged 21.5 points and 10.8 rebounds per game in leading Jackson (26-1) to the Wesco 4A South title, the District 1 championship and a second-place finish at state.
Coach of the Year
Nick Brown, Arlington
Sure, the Eagles were supposed to be good, but few outside the north Snohomish County town thought they'd be this good. Led by Brown's unflappable coaching style and appreciation for his kids and community, Arlington won the Wesco 4A North crown, was the runner-up at district, reached the state Class 4A semifinals and brought home a fifth-place trophy.
First Team
Jason Todd, Jackson, Jr.
The Timberwolves wing averaged a double-double in the leading the Wesco 4A South champs to the 4A state championship game.
Terry Dawn, Arlington, Sr.
The Eagles wing set the school's all-time scoring mark in his final game and helped Arlington finish fifth in the state.
Cannen Roberson, Stanwood, Sr.
The Spartans guard averaged more than 16 points per game in leading the Spartans to a 3A District 1 championship.
Zach Pederson, Glacier Peak, Sr.
The Grizzlies post was a big part of Glacier Peak's run to the state tournament, which included a 3A South title.
Josh Hawkinson, Shorewood, Sr.
The Washington State-signee averaged nearly 19 points per game in leading the Thunderbirds to a second-place finish in the 3A South.
Second Team
Imaan Vicente, Kamiak, Sr.
Blake Fernandez, Mountlake Terrace, Sr.
Marquis Armstead, Mountlake Terrace, Sr.
Ramsey Rosales, Glacier Peak, Sr.
Dan Kingma, Jackson, Jr.
All-Area voting
Coaches votes | Player of the Year
Jason Todd, Jackson, 13
Terry Dawn, Arlington, 10
Zach Pederson, Glacier Peak, 4
Josh Hawkinson, Shorewood, 3
Cannen Roberson, Stanwood, 2
Zach Taylor, Cedarcrest, 1
Fan votes | Player of the Year
Through 3 p.m. Saturday
Josh Hawkinson, Shorewood 907
Jason Todd, Jackson 769
Terry Dawn, Arlington 671
Zach Pederson, Glacier Peak 378
Zach Taylor, Cedarcrest 160
Cannen Roberson, Stanwood 151
Coaches votes | All-Area Teams
Todd, 15
Dawn, 15
Hawkinson, 15
Pederson, 12
Roberson, 9
Imaan Vicente, Kamiak, 8
Blake Fernandez, Mountlake Terrace, 8
Marquis Armstead, Mountlake Terrace, 7
Greg Bowman, Mountlake Terrace, 6
Zach Taylor, 6
Ramsey Rosales, Glacier Peak, 5
Devin Stoen, Lake Stevens, 5
Devin Joseph, Edmonds-Woodway, 5
Dreu Vader, Glacier Peak, 5
Josh Thayer, Stanwood, 4
Bayek Tutlam, Mariner, 4
Dan Kingma, Jackson, 3
Travis Bakken, Edmonds-Woodway, 2
Brian Zehr, Jackson, 2
Andrew Roozen, Mount Vernon, 2
Casey Leek, Mount Vernon, 1
Jordan Corpus, Cedarcrest, 1
Brock VandenEkart, Sultan, 1
Caleb Taylor, King's, 1
Nicota Stevenson, Monroe, 1
Loren Lacasse, Mountlake Terrace, 1

Share your comments: Log in using your HeraldNet account or your Facebook, Twitter or Disqus profile. Comments that violate the rules are subject to removal. Please see our terms of use. Please note that you must verify your email address for your comments to appear.

You are logged in using your HeraldNet ID. Click here to update your profile. | Log out.

Our new comment system is not supported in IE 7. Please upgrade your browser here.

comments powered by Disqus
digital subscription promo

Subscribe now

Unlimited digital access starting at 99 cents, or included with any print subscription.