Whether it's a menu listing for alternatives such as gluten-free bread and gluten-free beer, or a notation that certain dishes can be made without croutons or breadcrumbs, restaurants are helping to make it easier for these diners.
When dining out, don't assume that anything is gluten-free.
The chef may have added a "secret ingredient," for instance, fries or potato skins might be dusted with flour to make them more crisp.
So always let your server know you can't have gluten-containing products.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and possibly oats.
Oats do not contain gluten but are often milled in a facility that processes gluten-containing grains.
Clues to gluten
Au Gratin: topping of bread crumbs
Battered: coating contains wheat flour
Bechamel sauce: thickened with wheat flour
Bisque: soup often thickened with flour
Croquette: encased in breadcrumbs
Fricassee: stew usually thickened with flour
Marinade: may contain soy sauce or condiments with gluten
Roux: paste of fat and flour to thicken sauces
Salad dressings: can be thickened with wheat-containing ingredients
Streusel: made from flour, butter, sugar and spices
Teriyaki sauce: contains soy sauce
Tempura: fried in a flour-based batter
Carolyn O'Neil, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
More Life Headlines
Today in history Living with Children: Solving the misbehavior to-consequence equation Holiday gift ideas for the food lover in your life Take your Washington tummy on a trip Bask in the state’s best views all year Where to savor those heavenly Tuscany wines Cold winter nights can be ideal for stargazing Draw the line on when son can sing away
Our to-do list full of ideas for your weekend
Our new comment system is not supported in IE 7. Please upgrade your browser here.