The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions

School Winners

SHARE: facebook Twitter icon Pinterest icon Linkedin icon Google+ icon Email icon |  PRINTER-FRIENDLY
  • College Place Middle School students Kendra Jory (left) and Charlotte Clark placed first and second, respectively, in a local Fleet Reserve Associatio...

    Contributed photo

    College Place Middle School students Kendra Jory (left) and Charlotte Clark placed first and second, respectively, in a local Fleet Reserve Association Americanism essay contest.

  • The Granite Falls High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) team competed well at a regional event in February, with 14 students qualifyin...

    Contributed photo

    The Granite Falls High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) team competed well at a regional event in February, with 14 students qualifying for the 2014 State Business Leadership Conference, to be held April 17-19 in Seattle.

FBLA students head to state
Several students from local high schools performed well at regional Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) events in February and now head to the 2014 State Business Leadership Conference, April 17-19 in Seattle.
Listed are students who placed in the top five for one or more events, qualifying them for state.
Edmonds-Woodway High School: Jackie Kobal, Angela Malloy, Thomas Sams
Glacier Peak High School: Emily Allen, Sarah Karabut, Benjamin Lamb, Mason Meyer, Ryan Meyer
Granite Falls High School: Tyler Arp, Beau Byron, Chloe Downs, Will Kamins, Jarod Koehmstedt, Jeremy Miller, Ricky Mueller, Hailey Murphy, Hayley Nelson, Brenden Sanders, Aakash Sethi, Kenna Todd, Alexander Turner, Alaina Vanderhoff
Lakewood High School: Dalton Anderson, Dana Arenz, Alondra Meza, Michael Schloe, Laena Skiles, Alisa Smith
Lynnwood High School: David Jorgensen
Marysville Getchell High School: Connor Bretz, Whitney Buell, Sage Dewdney, Jeffrey Estes, Sabrina Farrell, McKenna Fink, Kaylee Gardner, Chante Lee, Sean O’Brien, Sarah Roetcisoender, Chantz San Nicolas, Collin Sprage, Gursharan Tiwana, Tanner Wilcoxson, Amanda Zeigler
Snohomish High School: Hannah Andersen, Bailey Green, Nicole Hill, Shawna Krueger
Stanwood High School: Rachel Andelin, Jeriah Bankson, Amira Beidas, Chad Beidas, Jordan Berry, Cassie Bowling, Amber Boyd, Megan Butler, Irelyn Callaghan, Kolby Cameron, Rose Charbonneau, Alex Clarke, Cameron Chollar, Isaac Colby, Brianna Cumming, Riley Cunningham, Camlynne Davis, Zach Hatzenbeler, Tania Hawes, Abbey Hicks, Emily Hoyt, Maddy Hughes, Marina Hutchison, Hailey Johnson, Conner Kunzman, Briana Lawson, Brooke Leland, Annie Lewis, Josie Maley, Claire Mason, Nicole Nafziger, Keiley-Shai Parker, Ingrid Pelletier, Hillary Pham, Corina Pierce, Caylyn Rich, Aelric Riggs, Kylie Stevens, Lacey Stonnell, Seth Urbanski
Students win local essay contest
The Fleet Reserve Association’s Americanism essay contest is open to all middle school students in the United States. This year’s topic was “The Bill of Rights and Me.” The three winners at the local level of this national contest were seventh-grade students from College Place Middle School. First, second and third place went to Kendra Jory, Charlotte Clark and Sarah Shannon, respectively.
Kendra’s first-place essay has moved on to the next level of competition.
Arlington yearbook a national finalist
Arlington High School yearbook teacher Anne Hayman was recently notified that the 2012-13 Stillaguamish Trail yearbook has been named a finalist for the Yearbook/Magazine Pacemakers Award given by the National Scholastic Press Association.
There were a total of 368 entries from schools across the nation. Each entry was judged on design, writing and editing, content, concept, photography, art and graphics.
“We’ve been working towards this goal for several years, and we’re excited to be the only school in Washington nominated,” Hayman said.
Student receives jazz special mention
Edmonds-Woodway High School junior Sarah Freyd was a finalist in the 10th annual Seattle-Kobe Female Jazz Vocalist Audition Feb. 24 at Dimitriou’s Jazz Alley in Seattle and received a Special Mention for the high-school division. She received $150 in gift certificates to the restaurant and concert venue.
The winner of the Seattle-Kobe Sister City Association contest will travel to Kobe, Japan, in May for a jazz contest.
Terrace journalism program honored
Mountlake Terrace High School has been selected as one of six in the nation to be recognized with the First Amendment Press Freedom Award by the Journalism Education Association. The award recognizes high schools that actively support, teach and protect First Amendment rights and responsibilities of students and teachers, with an emphasis on student-run media where students make all final decisions of content.
The winners will be honored April 10 at the opening ceremony of the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention in San Diego.
The school’s journalism teachers are Vince DeMiero, Angelo Comeaux and Beth Gilbraith.
Senior’s photo advances in contest
Meadowdale High School senior Shane Hayes earned second place in the Puget Sound Skills USA Photo Contest with his photo of a hummingbird. Shane will continue by competing at the state contest in April.
Rotary honors students, teacher
The Alderwood Terrace Rotary sponsors the Career and Technical Education Student of the Month program at Lynnwood High School. The January and February honorees were Ray Baldwin, a business and communications class senior, and Amanda Funseth, a senior in family and consumer science, respectively.
The Rotary Club also honored Mountlake Terrace High School math teacher Spencer Stiglets as its February Educator of the Month for his work with at-risk students.
Lake Stevens staff honored
February recipients of the Lake Stevens School District’s Apple Award: Donna Harrington, paraeducator at Mt. Pilchuck Elementary; Mavis Manton, bus driver; Josh Rosenbach, associate principal at Cavelero Mid High School; Carol Swanberg, custodian at Highland Elementary; and Kim Wilson, nurse at North Lake Middle School.
Nominated and selected by their peers, the staff awards will be presented at the March 12 Lake Stevens School Board meeting, which starts at 6:30 p.m. at the Educational Service Center, 12309 22nd St. NE.
To submit items for School Winners, email

More Local News Headlines


HeraldNet Headlines

Top stories and breaking news updates