In the first season of expanded instant replay, when infielders have possession while trying to turn double plays has become controversial.
Major League Baseball said the interpretation of the Playing Rules Committee was agreed to by MLB, the players’ association and the umpires’ union.
MLB said that the committee, chaired by New York Mets general manager Sandy Alderson, determined “a legal catch has occurred ... if the fielder had complete control over the ball in his glove, but drops the ball after intentionally opening his glove to make the transfer to his throwing hand.”
“There is no requirement that the fielder successfully remove the ball from his glove in order for it be ruled a catch,” the committee said. “If the fielder drops the ball while attempting to remove it to make a throw, the umpires should rule that the ball had been caught, provided that the fielder had secured it in his glove before attempting the transfer.”
The committee also said “the umpires will continue to use their judgment as to whether the fielder had complete control over the ball before the transfer.”
More Sports Headlines
Indianapolis loses RB Bradshaw with season-ending injury 12:34 p.m. LA Galaxy’s Keane on MLS Best XI for fourth straight year 12:32 p.m. Dolphins fire offensive coordinator Lazor Kobe Bryant says he will retire at end of season USC names Helton permanent head coach Georgia’s Richt still interested in coaching Tony Stewart getting new crew chief for his final season Wilson throws 5 TD passes as Seahawks beat Steelers 39-30
Our new comment system is not supported in IE 7. Please upgrade your browser here.