The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions
Evan Smith |
Published: Wednesday, May 21, 2014, 4:21 p.m.

Candidates who have filed for November elections

These candidates have filed for offices on South Snohomish County ballots for the November general election. All partisan offices and any non-partisan offices with three or more candidates also will appear on the August primary ballot.

Here are candidates who have filed for offices on 2014 ballots. Asterisk denotes incumbent.

U.S. Representative

2nd Congressional District (Brier, Lynnwood, Mountlake Terrace; coastal areas of Snohomish, Skagit and Whatcom counties from Mukilteo to Bellingham; all of Island and San Juan counties) – 2-year term:

Mike Lapointe (Prefers Independent Party)

*Rick Larsen (Prefers Democratic Party)

B.J. Guillot (Prefers Republican Party)

7th Congressional District (Edmonds, Woodway and nearby unincorporated areas, Shoreline, Lake Forest Park, most of Seattle) – 2-year term

Doug McQuaid (Prefers Independent Party)

Scott Sutherland (Prefers Republican Party)

GoodSpaceGuy (Prefers Work and Wealth Party

*Jim McDermott (Prefers Democratic Party)

Craig Keller (Prefers Republican Party)

State senator

21st Legislative District (Most of Edmonds, unincorporated areas north of Edmonds and Lynnwood and northeast of Lynnwood, all of Mukilteo, part of South Everett) - Short and 4-year term (includes the last month of the term that Paull Shin resigned in January)

Dan Matthews (Prefers G.O.P. Party)

*Marko Liias (Prefers Democratic Party

32nd Legislative District (Lynnwood, Woodway and nearby unincorporated areas, parts of Edmonds and Mountlake Terrace, Shoreline and part of northwest Seattle) - 4-year term

*Maralyn Chase (Prefers Democratic Party)

Chris Eggen (Prefers Democratic Party)

Robert Reedy (Prefers Republican Party)

State Representative

1st Legislative District Position 1 (most of Mountlake Terrace, all of Brier and Bothell, unincorporated areas of Snohomish County north and east of Bothell, part of Kirkland, unincorporated areas of King County between Bothell and Kirkland) – 2-year term

*Derek Stanford (Prefers Democratic Party)

1st Legislative District Position 2 – 2-year term

Edward J. Barton (Prefers Republican Party)

*Luis Moscoso (Prefers Democratic Party)

Dave Griffin (Prefers Democratic Party)

21st Legislative District Position 1 – 2-year term

Scott V. Whelpley (Prefers Democratic Party)

Justin McMahon (Prefers Democratic Party)

Dick McManus (Prefers Democratic Party)

Allen McPheeters (Prefers Republican Party)

Strom Peterson (Prefers Democratic Party)

(Incumbent Democrat Mary Helen Roberts is not seeking re-election)

21st Legislative District Position 2 - Short & 2-year term (includes the last month of the term that Marko Liias gave up in January)

Ed Wegner (Prefers Independent Party)

*Lillian Ortiz‐Self (Prefers Democratic Party)

Jeff Scherrer (Prefers Republican Party)

Bob Lewis (Prefers Green Party)

32nd Legislative District Position 1 – 2-year term

*Cindy Ryu (Prefers Democratic Party)

32nd Legislative District Position 2– 2-year term

Ruth Kagi (Prefers Democratic Party)

Alvin A. Rutledge (Prefers Republican Party)

Snohomish County Executive – 1-year unexpired term (remainder of term that Aaron Reardon resigned last year)

James Robert Deal (Prefers Democratic Party)

Carolyn Eslick (Prefers Republican Party)

*John Lovick (Prefers Democratic Party)

Snohomish County Prosecuting Attorney - 4-year term

*Mark K. Roe (Prefers Democratic Party)

Snohomish County Sheriff, non-partisan position – 1-year unexpired term (remainder of term that John Lovick gave up last year)

Jim Upton

*Ty Trenary

State Supreme Court Justice Position 1, non-partisan position - 2-year unexpired term (remainder of term that Jim Johnson resigned)

*Mary Yu

State Supreme Court Justice Position 3, non-partisan position– 6-year term

* Mary Fairhurst

State Supreme Court Justice Position 4, non-partisan position– 6-year term

Eddie Yoon

*Charles W. Johnson

State Supreme Court Justice Position 7, non-partisan position– 6-year term

*Debra Stephens

John (Zamboni) Scannell

Appeals Court District 2 Division 1 Position 2, non-partisan position– 6-year term

* J. Robert Leach

South District Court Judge Position 1, non-partisan position– Short & 4-year term

* Beth A. Fraser

South District Court Judge Position 2, non-partisan position - 4-year term

*Jeffrey Goodwin

Brett Nagle

South District Court Judge Position 3, non-partisan position - 4-year term

Douglas J. Fair

(Incumbent Carol A. McRae is not seeking re-election)

Snohomish County PUD District 1 Commissioner District 1, non-partisan position – 6-year term

Matt Hartman

* Dave Aldrich

Bruce King

Story tags » PoliticsBothellBrierEdmondsEverettLynnwoodMountlake TerraceMukilteoSnohomishWoodway

Subscribe to Daily headlines
See sample | Privacy policy

Most recent South County Politics posts

digital subscription promo

Subscribe now

Unlimited digital access starting at 99 cents, or included with any print subscription.

» More Politics
HeraldNet Classifieds