Books for fans of ‘Star Wars’

  • By Tish Wells McClatchy Newspapers
  • Friday, November 30, 2012 7:52pm
  • LifeMovies

If you have a “Star Wars” fan in your family, you may end up wondering what to get them.

Don’t worry. Lucasfilm has you covered. It’s intent on providing all your book needs this Christmas season.

There is a new edition of the art book “Star Wars Art: Illustrations,” where artists interpret the universe through a myriad of different techniques, ink, paint, graphics. Included are pieces from Dark Horse Comics, the Topps “Star Wars Galaxy” trading cards appear as watercolors, pen and ink, and book covers selected from the more than 145 novels.

Some of the pictures expand on the movies: Hugh Fleming’s “Dewback Attack” shows Luke Skywalker escaping a nasty reptile on Tatooine. There are eight with Princess Leia in her slave girl outfit.

Tsuneo Sanda’s “Congratulations!” created for the mega “Star Wars” convention Celebration V in 2010 has all the characters you probably know, and many that only in-depth fans can name.

For compulsive readers and trivia fans, you have Pablo Hidalgo’s “Star Wars: The Essential Reader’s Companion,” which covers the professionally written novels, short stories and others that really started with “a seismic event for readers,” Hidalgo said.

Hidalgo says that the “Companion” is “an attempt to summarize every piece of prose ‘Star Wars’ fiction out there.” Graphic novels, game books for the various videogames and “stories with multiple endings” are not included.

This is generally known as the “Expanded Universe,” and are not considered canon by most fans. “The most definitive canon of the “Star Wars” universe is encompassed by the feature films and television productions in which George Lucas was directly involved,” Hidalgo said.

“The Companion” includes plot summaries with character listings, fiction timeline placement by BBY, the battle of Yavin (where the original Death Star was destroyed) and indexes. He has read all the fiction that has appeared in the novels, short stories, the “Star Wars Insider” magazine, Dark Horse Comics as well as the Scholastic juvenile fiction.

There are book covers, a variety of paintings and useful indexes. This is an excellent guide to the Expanded Universe for those who might want to make sure they’ve read it all.

For the players of “Star Wars: The Old Republic” videogame, the “Star Wars” universe extends back 25,000 years into the days of the Old Republic. The new “Encyclopedia: The Definitive Guide to the Epic Conflict” covers the history created by the game, a history that covers thousands of years. It’s rich with illustrations from the game, and extensive background minutia.

Familiar names, from the movies, do appear. For example, in the “Encyclopedia” the planet Hoth was the scene of an epic battle thousands of years ago with “dozen of starships.”

By the time of “The Empire Strikes Back,” movie, Hoth is just another icy rock with smelly native fauna like Tauntauns and Whampas.

More in Life

Beer of the Week: Scuttlebutt’s Night Circus

The Everett brewery’s head brewer had nightmares trying to dial in its new coffee and coconut ale.

Viognier: French white grape gaining foothold in Washington

Viognier, the noble white grape of the northern Rhône Valley of France,… Continue reading

Curries continues home-cooked Indian cuisine at new location

The restaurant, now located on Evergreen Way, also puts an Indian spin on Northwest cooking.

New documentary chronicles Obama’s last year in White House

“The Final Year” doesn’t paint the administration in rosy colors, but it isn’t too critical either.

‘Forever My Girl’ takes a page from the Nicholas Sparks genre

The film based on a novel by Heidi McLaughlin is a well-worn tale of lost love and redemption.

Christian Bale seems to channel Clint Eastwood in ‘Hostiles’

Bale plays a U.S. cavalry captain who escorts a dying Cheyenne chief to his tribal homeland.

International guitar tour led by Lulo Reinhardt stops in Edmonds

International Guitar Night, now in its 18th year, is Jan. 24 at the Edmonds Center for the Arts.

The latest on Snohomish County’s breweries, wineries and distilleries.

recreated one of those old recipes, brewing Tennant’s 1954 Gold Label Barleywine

New Cascadia Art Museum exhibit showcases mid-century designs

The exhibition includes ceramics, furniture, clothing, sculpture and jewelry from 1948 to 1966.

Most Read