Books for fans of ‘Star Wars’

  • By Tish Wells McClatchy Newspapers
  • Friday, November 30, 2012 7:52pm
  • LifeMovies

If you have a “Star Wars” fan in your family, you may end up wondering what to get them.

Don’t worry. Lucasfilm has you covered. It’s intent on providing all your book needs this Christmas season.

There is a new edition of the art book “Star Wars Art: Illustrations,” where artists interpret the universe through a myriad of different techniques, ink, paint, graphics. Included are pieces from Dark Horse Comics, the Topps “Star Wars Galaxy” trading cards appear as watercolors, pen and ink, and book covers selected from the more than 145 novels.

Some of the pictures expand on the movies: Hugh Fleming’s “Dewback Attack” shows Luke Skywalker escaping a nasty reptile on Tatooine. There are eight with Princess Leia in her slave girl outfit.

Tsuneo Sanda’s “Congratulations!” created for the mega “Star Wars” convention Celebration V in 2010 has all the characters you probably know, and many that only in-depth fans can name.

For compulsive readers and trivia fans, you have Pablo Hidalgo’s “Star Wars: The Essential Reader’s Companion,” which covers the professionally written novels, short stories and others that really started with “a seismic event for readers,” Hidalgo said.

Hidalgo says that the “Companion” is “an attempt to summarize every piece of prose ‘Star Wars’ fiction out there.” Graphic novels, game books for the various videogames and “stories with multiple endings” are not included.

This is generally known as the “Expanded Universe,” and are not considered canon by most fans. “The most definitive canon of the “Star Wars” universe is encompassed by the feature films and television productions in which George Lucas was directly involved,” Hidalgo said.

“The Companion” includes plot summaries with character listings, fiction timeline placement by BBY, the battle of Yavin (where the original Death Star was destroyed) and indexes. He has read all the fiction that has appeared in the novels, short stories, the “Star Wars Insider” magazine, Dark Horse Comics as well as the Scholastic juvenile fiction.

There are book covers, a variety of paintings and useful indexes. This is an excellent guide to the Expanded Universe for those who might want to make sure they’ve read it all.

For the players of “Star Wars: The Old Republic” videogame, the “Star Wars” universe extends back 25,000 years into the days of the Old Republic. The new “Encyclopedia: The Definitive Guide to the Epic Conflict” covers the history created by the game, a history that covers thousands of years. It’s rich with illustrations from the game, and extensive background minutia.

Familiar names, from the movies, do appear. For example, in the “Encyclopedia” the planet Hoth was the scene of an epic battle thousands of years ago with “dozen of starships.”

By the time of “The Empire Strikes Back,” movie, Hoth is just another icy rock with smelly native fauna like Tauntauns and Whampas.

More in Life

Where the wild things are in Snohomish

Step into the studio of Imps and Monsters creator Justin Hillgrove for a Black Friday sale.

Meet Nellie, Thor, Raven, Lola, Jasper, Gunner and Bella

These six dogs are waiting for loving homes.

Did you know? Bats edition

Worthwhile Everett library reading and viewing about bats of the animal, sport and hero varieties.

Don’t forbid friendship with back-talking neighbor kid

Q: Our 8-year-old has suddenly developed a very sassy mouth. She picked… Continue reading

How birds stay alive in winter and what you can do to help

When the weather turns chilly, columnist Sharon Wootton’s thoughts turn to birds coping with cold.

Don’t get scammed: Think before you click on email links

An email that was supposedly from iTunes is a scam that targeted busy parents.

Sweden’s Glass Country sparkles like a hand-blown bauble

You can blame my Norwegian heritage, but I’m not so hot on… Continue reading

The pros’ snow: Lake Tahoe a big draw for skiers of all stripes

North Lake Tahoe is home to one of the largest concentrations of ski resorts in North America.

Teen idol David Cassidy remains in Florida hospital

The former pop star is dealing with multiple organ failure.

Most Read