School Winners

  • Fri May 11th, 2012 6:20pm
  • Life

Park Place student earns contest honors

Savannah Hastings, a sixth-grader at Park Place Middle School in Monroe, has received honorable mention for her entry in the state’s Letters About Literature contest.

Savannah was in the top five of the entries for her level, and one of 98 semifinalists out of 5,500 entries statewide.

Letters About Literature is a national reading promotion program of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress.

The state competition is sponsored by the Washington State Library. Students write a letter to the author of a book that has had an impact on their lives.

Savannah wrote to author J.K. Rowling about her book, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.” as an assignment in Dorothy Schroeder’s humanities honors class.

Marysville senior awarded scholarship

Cody House, a student at Marysville Pilchuck High School, has been awarded a $2,000 scholarship to Waldorf College in Iowa.

The scholarship rewards students who have excelled academically in high school.

Monroe High School recognizes scholars

Monroe High School has announced its Department Scholars, selected by the teachers of each department and based in part on the students’ interests in their courses, desire to excel and willingness to pursue further knowledge in their areas.

The April scholars are: ninth-grade humanities, Bailey Sarto and Emily Slack; agricultural science, Taylor Russell; English, John Pang and Rachel Lee; family and consumer science, Nydia Huerta; science, Cassandra Engvall and Tyler Koontz; health, Holly Gombossy and Tyler Aspinwall; history, Abigail Jackson and Anthony Peloquin; instrumental music, Karen Vasatka and Spencer Petersen; manufacturing technology, Blake Wolff; marketing, Logan Sutton; math, Chawin Pathompornvivat and Keely Hagen; physical education, Macey McGovern and Fermin Almanzar; and world languages, Amanda MacRae.

Everett graduate gets WSU scholarship

Jennisa Mangold was awarded a $300 Evelyn W. Hacker Colonial Dames Scholarship from the College of Liberal Arts at Washington State University.

The Evelyn W. Hacker Scholarship is awarded to junior or senior students who demonstrate exceptional leadership ability.

Mangold graduated from Everett High School in 2005 and plans to graduate from Washington State University in 2014 with a degree in general studies.

She is a member of the Tau Sigma Honor Society as well as Photography Club.

Marysville Pilchuck grad on dean’s list

Morgan Martinis, a 2011 graduate of Marysville Pilchuck High School, was named to the dean’s list at Central Washington University for the winter quarter.

Martinis plans to pursue an education degree. She is the daughter of Marty and Cheryl Martinis of Marysville.

Arlington students, teacher earn awards

Arlington High School students Sierra DeCota and Collier Bereton received the Junior Achievement Awards on April 19 at the Masonic Lodge 129 Junior Achievement Scholarship Awards event.

One girl and one boy are selected from the junior class of Arlington and Darrington schools each year to receive the awards.

Other juniors recognized during the evening included Brendon Brereton, Lynsey Amundson, Marissa Swegle, Lindsay Brown, Jollee Pullig, Kendra Ferrier, Allie Jones, Shelby Carr and Esra Alameedi.

Students applying for the scholarship are considered based on their participation in service, leadership, citizen appreciation, academic standing, educational achievements and future goals.

The Public Schools Outreach Community Grand Lodge also awarded Jim Bassett with the Grand Lodge Educator of the Year for his contribution to the Robotics Club, teaching of robotics at Weston High School in Arlington, and providing technical support in areas such as creating the Basmati software for teachers to use in grading students.

Monroe student wins national scholarship

The National Federation of Independent Business Young Entrepreneur Foundation recently announced the state recipients of the 10th annual NFIB Young Entrepreneur Awards, a scholarship program designed to reward and encourage entrepreneurial talents among high school students.

Monroe High School senior Aaron Furrer was one of four award recipients in the state. He won a $5,000 scholarship.

More than 500 students nationwide applied for a Young Entrepreneur Foundation scholarship this year. To qualify for an award, students must be running their own business.

In May, the foundations plans to honor the four students selected as $5,000 scholarships winners and name the “2012 Young Entrepreneur of the Year” who will be awarded a $10,000 scholarship. Aaron is among the four competing for that honor.

Arlington recognizes graduating seniors

Arlington High School recently announced accomplishments of some graduating seniors.

Four seniors at the high school were nominated for Washington Scholars. Principals of in-state public and private high schools nominate the top 1 percent of the graduating class on the basis of academic achievement, leadership and community service. Principal Brian Beckley nominated Robert Kephart, Sara Deeter, Molly Rard and McKenzie (Kyle) Kilmer.

McKenzie (Kyle) Kilmer and Molly Bard were accepted into the University of Idaho Honors Program. Sara Deeter, school board representative, has been accepted to Yale.

Robert Kephart received Washington Scholar for the 39th Legislative District by the Washington Higher Education Coordinating Board. He has also been appointed to the U.S. Air Force Academy.

Two other Arlington High School students from the class of 2012 have been appointed to military academies: Blake McPherson, West Point U.S. Military Academy; and Alvin Abes, U.S. Naval Academy.

Thirty-five members of the Arlington High School graduating class of 2012 have been selected for the President’s Award for Educational Excellence.

The program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

The listed Arlington High School students earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.9 to 4.0: Megan Abdo, Alvin Abes, Evie Aylesworth, Megan Beierly, Nathan Braaten, Dana Canaria, Andrew Clark, Alexander Davis, Sara Deeter, Jennifer Domanowski, Michelle Domanowski, Kristina Flick, Janey Foxe, Yuliya Gavrishchuk, Kelsey Ghirardo, Tanner Goheen, Justin Haynes, Michael Imboden, Robert Kephart, Mackenzie Kilmer, Jacob Larson, Savannah Leavitt, Kelsea Lothamer, Colton McCoy, Blake McPherson, Dakota Olson, Hannah Peseau, Kriszl Pineda, Molly Rard, Jasmine Root, Katrina Roys, Joshua Scarth, Lyubov Tsymbalyuk, Cassandra Van Loo and Catherine Wilson.

To submit news for School Winners, contact reporter Amy Daybert: 425-339-3491; or email