School Winners

Lakewood students win at FBLA event

The Lakewood Future Business Leaders of America Club recently attended the Winter Conference at the Warm Beach Conference Center in Stanwood.

Fourteen students competed in a variety of events relating to business.

Lakewood students who placed in the top five of their event and qualified for state competition in April are Cody Cao, Kaylee Diggs, Ashlie Jensen, Aaron Nech, Jacob Peterson, Ryan Roberts and Alisa Smith.

Lake Stevens lauds engineering teacher

Lake Stevens High School engineering teacher Kit Shanholtzer was recently named Washington State Industrial Technical Educators Association Teacher of the Year.

Shanholtzer has taught a variety of engineering classes and serves as the Department Head for Technology Education for Lake Stevens High School.

For the past two years he has taken summer classes to become certified in Project Lead the Way classes that then become eligible for students to earn community college credits for high school engineering classes.

He also has served as assistant girls soccer coach and is head coach of the boys soccer team.

Arlington students in Elks scholarship run

Arlington High School students Sara Deeter and Colton McCoy have advanced to the national level for the Elks National Foundation 2012 Most Valuable Student Competition. They are two of 13 students from Washington state who have advanced to the national level.

In April, the Elks National Foundation will award 500 four-year scholarships to the highest-rated applicants. The scholarships range from $1,000 per year to $15,000 per year to students pursuing a four-year degree at an American college or university.

Success in Education winners announced

The Granite Falls School District has announced its third quarter Success in Education student winners.

Students Edward Quinonez, Dayna Strecker, Grady Briggs, Taylor Weitzel, Karrah Smith, Becky Gilbertson, Bailey Ainley and Tommy Eadie were recognized at the March 21 school board meeting.

The awards are presented to students who show an understanding of the importance of education and provide service to other students, staff or the community.

Senior organizes prom dress exchange

Taylor DuPape, a senior at Lake Stevens High School, is planning a prom dress exchange.

Taylor is working on “Cinderella’s Closet” with Lake Stevens High School Key Club members. Senior Jenna Harvey is coordinating with dry cleaners and Savannah Goguen, a junior, plans to continue the event next year.

Taylor is a part-time Running Start student at Everett Community College. After graduation, she plans to attend Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah, to major in English and get a masters degree in creative writing.

Dresses can be dropped off at the high school main office from April 9 to 20. For more information email or call 425-335-1515.

Edmonds student receives scholarship

Peyton Schmidt-Teague of Edmonds recently received a Presidential Scholarship for $2,500 for the 2012-2013 academic year at Eastern Washington University.

The award is given to incoming students with a cumulative high school GPA of 3.8 or higher or an SAT score of at least 1250.

Peyton will graduate from Edmonds Woodway High School this spring, where she is a member of the Black Student Union and has participated in the Key Club.

She plans to pursue a degree in nursing. Peyton is the daughter of Genevieve Schmidt of Edmonds and Kenneth Teague of Everett.

To submit news for School Winners, contact reporter Amy Daybert: 425-339-3491; or email

More in Life

Bob Jepperson’s Wild Love Story

A perfect circle of sounds, pictures and storytelling from the Anacortes author.

‘Shape of Water,’ ‘Big Little Lies’ lead Golden Globe nominations

“The Post” and “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” also collected a number of nominations.

Everett’s Michael ‘Scooby’ Silva is the leader of the (dog) pack

Since 2012, he’s built a thriving business walking dogs while their owners are at work.

Mukilteo Police Chief Cheol Kang is known for his people skills

The city’s top cop’s calm demeanor and holistic approach earns him the nickname “Yoda.”

Three posh places to escape this winter in north Puget Sound

Whether it’s wine country, backcountry or the seashore, a relaxing retreat is close at hand.

Getting a glimpse of what’s coming as we age

Everett Public Library reading to help you understand the changes ahead in your elder years.

This author is throwing a virtual party for book lovers

Jennifer Bardsley is hosting a Facebook get-together for young-adult book authors and readers.

Leanne Smiciklas, the friendly lady who served customers of her husband’s Old School Barbeque from a schoolbus parked in front of the Reptile Zoo east of Monroe, has died at 64. (Dan Bates / Herald file)
Without her, beloved BBQ hotspot in Monroe can’t go on

Leanne Smiciklas, who ran the now-closed Old School BBQ along Highway 2 with her husband, died.

Taylor Johnston waters a philodendron at her home on Friday, Dec. 8, 2017 in Everett, Wa. (Andy Bronson / The Herald)
Three guidebooks to help the novice houseplant gardener

Indoor plants are popular again — and we’re not talking about your grandma’s African violets.

Most Read