School Winners

  • Sun Mar 28th, 2010 11:16pm
  • Life

Knights of Columbus honors local students

The Knights of Columbus service student honorees were recently announced for the past three months at Immaculate Conception/Our Lady of Perpetual Help School in Everett,

In December and January, eighth-graders Maggie Keaty and Vienna Krumwiede were honored. Seventh-grade student Andy Atwood was selected for February.

The three students were recognized for their church, school and community service involvement.

SPU students on fall quarter dean’s list

The following students made the Seattle Pacific University 2009 autumn quarter dean’s list.

Students on the dean’s list have completed at least 12 credits and attained a 3.5 or higher grade point average.

Everett: Jennifer Beck, Melanie Bjornethun, Justeene Campo, Elizabeth Dickson, Katie Ewton, Kathryn Gross, Allyson Johnson, Haley Larson, Ashley Maddox, Jean Neumann, Allysa Ruizo, Katie Wilner, Marianna Wilson and Deborah Young.

Lake Stevens: Nicholas Johnson, Brittany Tri and Aaron VanDyke.

Marysville: Madison Boyce, Michaela Caldwell, Sarah Cunningham and Bethany Kanehen.

Monroe: Clinton Miracle.

Mukilteo: Sara Lee, Zachary McDonald, Anastasia Pechenkina and Timothy Perisho.

Snohomish: Jessica Alleman, Katherine Benson, Sydney Benson, Krysta Carrick, Krista Eknes, Heather Garcia, Daesha Henderson, Aaron Kellogg, Emily Langkow, Amber LeGrand, Sara Lloyd, Cameron Lowell, Tessa Rath, Amy Salios, Jonathan Sullivan, Bjorn Sunde, Kristopher Williams and Laura Zylstra.

Edmonds students on Washington University dean’s list

Stephen Maldazys and Katharine Walker, both of Edmonds, were recently named to the dean’s list for the fall 2009 semester at Washington University in St. Louis.

Maldazys is a graduate of Edmonds-Woodway High School in Edmonds and is enrolled in the university’s School of Engineering and Applied Science. Walker is a graduate of Interlochen Arts Academy in Interlochen, Mich., and is enrolled in the university’s College of Art in the Sam Fox School of Design and Visual Arts.

Darrington Collage Contest winners

Winners in the Darrington Parent-Teacher Association Collage Contest were recently announced. The annual Reflections contest is open to students in kindergarten through sixth grade. This year’s theme was “Beauty is…”

The first-place winners received ribbons and will advance to the state competition.

The winners in this year’s contest are:

Kindergarten to grade two: first place, Shaun Burnett, kindergarten; second place, Jorjah Johnson, second grade; third place, Hannah Cousins, kindergarten.

Runners-up: first, T.J. Stadin, kindergarten; second, Danny Helling, kindergarten.

Grades three to five: first place, Braiden Fitzpatrick, fourth grade; second place, Mishelle Konertz, fourth grade; third place: Rachel Sherson, fifth grade.

Runners-up: First: Zach Baker, third grade; second: Kimmie Sherson, fourth grade; third: Sammy West, fifth grade.

Grade six: first place: Shasta Howe; second place: Jonathan Ross.

Runners-up: Dustin Grant and Katie Stanfield.

PTSA Honorable Mentions:

First: Darin Sedenius; second: Maggie Helling, Joseph Moncak, Aden Requa and Justin Tricket; third: Kaylee Frazze, Alex Sheskey and Buddy Williams; fourth: Tyler Brown, Jesse Phillips and Tatum Right; fifth: Isaac Buchanan, Matthew Kendall, Kilee McConnahay and Kaylee Weidman; sixth: Reyna Emerson and Cyrus Jones.

Lake Stevens Students of Month

Students in the Lake Stevens School District were recognized by the Lake Stevens School Board as outstanding secondary students on March 10.

The following students are Students of the Month for February:

Lake Stevens High School: 10th grade, Hannah Aikman and Jason Flick; 11th grade, Megan Allen and Chad Watson; 12th grade, Charlie Carrow and Nolan Ward.

PROVE High School: ninth grade, Brianna Injinmej.

Cavelero Mid High School: eighth grade, Tanner Krenz and Hannah Pennington; ninth grade, Hannah Fauchald and Luis Mata.

Lake Stevens Middle School: sixth grade, Jocelyn Acuna and Darian McClinton; seventh grade, Emily Foster and Roquin-Jon Siongco.

North Lake Middle School: sixth grade, Tyler Morton and Angela Mosca; seventh grade, Courtney Klein and Tyler LaPerle.

Local students on dean’s list at Berklee College of Music

Berklee College of Music in Boston recently announced the dean’s list for the fall semester of the 2009 academic year.

To be eligible, a full-time student must achieve a grade point average of 3.4 or above; a part-time student must achieve a grade point average of 3.6 or above.

The following local students have earned placement on the dean’s list for the fall semester:

Arlington: Allison Preisinger.

Edmonds: Laura Hoover and Ehssan Karimi.

Lynnwood: Devon Yesberger.

Snohomish: Marlie Pesek and Stevan Rexroat.

Everett resident on UW dean’s list

Andre LaMarre of Everett was named to the autumn quarter dean’s list at the University of Washington. He is studying architectural engineering.

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have completed at least 12 graded credits and have a grade point average of at least 3.5 out of 4.0.

Local residents Gonzaga dean’s list

Kelsey Stoeser, a freshman from Edmonds, and Tara Togstad, a freshman from Arlington, were among the 710 students named to the Gonzaga University dean’s list for fall semester 2009.

Students must earn a 3.5 to 3.69 grade-point average to be listed.

Granite Falls honors award winners

The Granite Falls School District recently announced its third quarter Success in Education award winners.

Senior Hannah Amilowski, freshman Luis Torres, eighth-grader Liberty Davis, seventh-grader Diana Cortes, sixth-grader Allanna Olson, and fifth-graders Kaitlyn Bostrom and Lacey Tolbert were recognized as winning students during the March 17 school board meeting.

Success in Education Awards are presented to students that show an understanding of the importance of education and provide service to other students, staff or the community.

Lake Stevens Apple Awards announced

Nominated and selected by their peers, the following Lake Stevens School District employees will be recognized for creating a positive, caring and productive school environment through exceptional effort, dedication or performance in their areas of responsibility.

March recipients of the Apple Award are: Staci Garka, paraeducator at Early Learning Center; Donna Gratton, paraeducator at Early Learning Center; and Heidi Lambert, social studies teacher at Cavelero Mid High.

Andrea Schneider, special education teacher at Hillcrest Elementary; Laurie Schreiber, counselor and reading specialist at Sunnycrest Elementary; and Amber Terry, paraeducator at Early Learning Center.

The Apple Awards will be presented at 7:30 p.m. on April 14 at the Lake Stevens School Board meeting in the Educational Service Center, 12309 22nd St. NE, Lake Stevens.

Send School Winners items to Amy Daybert, 425-339-3491,