School Winners

Three from county graduate from California Lutheran

Three Snohomish County residents were among 323 students who received degrees in May from California Lutheran University.

Meredith Brandstetter of Lake Stevens graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor of science degree in psychology. Daniel Erickson of Everett earned a bachelor of science degree in business administration and management. Kathryn Mataya of Edmonds received a bachelor of arts degree in communication.

California Lutheran University is a liberal arts university in Thousand Oaks, Calif.

10 Stanwood students place in FFA competition

Ten students from Stanwood High School traveled to Indianapolis, Ind. on Oct. 19 to compete in the 82nd National Future Farmers of America competition.

Students Alexa Flem, Jack Medlicott, Thor Pearson and Andrew Salmon were part of the Environmental and Natural Resources team and placed second at the event.

The Agriculture Mechanics team of Kaity Hampton, Brandon Nickels, Pender Rink and Scott Weisse placed third at the event. They were joined by their advisors Ryan Ovenell and Darryl Main on the trip.

Edmonds students receive Advance Placement awards

One hundred current students and graduates in the Edmonds School District recently received the College Board’s Advanced Placement Program Scholar Awards.

The program provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take college-level courses while still in high school and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the exams.

Students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. Those who earned this honor are:

Julia Tumbic from Edmonds-Woodway High School; Marney Mason and Corey Murray from Lynnwood High School; Jesse Bratt, Marissa Brent-Tookey, Jennifer Carver, Maeve Cullen, Caley Devries, Lianne Fijalka, Hannah Giese, Amanda Goffard, Samantha Hartford, Quinton Ronquillo and Nellie Shippen from Meadowdale High School; and Kelsey VanDalfsen from Mountlake Terrace High School.

Students qualified for an AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are:

Sally Chu from Edmonds-Woodway High School; Doan-Trang Kha, Brianna Little and Geoffrey Meinken from Lynnwood High School; John Anderson, Teos Bisbee, Austin Clement, Shannon Daughtrey, Phuc Duong, Elizabeth Hall, Darren Howell, Elaina Kelso, Natalie Kim, Matthew Landon, Margaret Laush, Hannah Olsen, Sara Portesan, Brennan Shaw and Jesse Wackerbarth from Meadowdale High School; and Jack Clinch, Whitney Gretch and Jessica Lindsay from Mountlake Terrace High School.

Students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP exams with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are:

Ian Johnson, Yurah Lim, Aniqa Minhas, Ryan Poling-Skutvik and Jacob Smith from Edmonds-Woodway High School; Kaleigh Ansdell, Jared Bryant, Brittany Craig, Sophie Gardner, Krissa Handricks, Jessica Herzog, Anthony Mathews, Kyle McDaniel and Taylor Nesheim from Lynnwood High School.

Frankel Agyei, Nicolas Amar, Ju An, Elizabeth Arthur, Geoffry Burks, Natalie Buslach, Sean Byarlay, Devin Chandler, Kathleen Childs, Nathan Collins, Sabrina Deigert, Breanna Fletcher, Luis Flores, Bryn Fraker, Zoe Freese, Robin Greene, Katherine Hamburg, Carolyn Hamilton, Osman Harb, Nathan Hoston, Shelley Koehn, Teresa Lam, Rebeccah Landerholm, David Mooney, Jessica Murphy, Spencer Murray, Ramsey Neville, Ariel Park, Jacob Schmitt, Jeffrey Thunell and Chike Ume from Meadowdale High School.

Daniel Balch, Teryn Bouche, Kayla Cooper, Nick Deller, Michael Fernandez, Trevor Hanzeli, Brandon Hines, Anh Huynh, Meghan Jaradi, Presley Jenkins, Sarah Juul, Nathan King, Jacob Laugeson, Gavin McHale, Gabe Much, Jeremy Rowe, Levi Suryan and Michael Vanderputten from Mountlake Terrace High School.

Mukilteo schools get grant from Boeing Co.

The Mukilteo School District was recently awarded a grant from the Boeing Co. for $36,293 to support the Deepening Teachers’ Mathematical Knowledge program, an effort to support professional development in math.

The grant money will be used to fund two three-credit classes about developing mathematical ideas.

It will also fund six full-day meetings with elementary mathematics leaders who will assist each elementary classroom teacher with the new mathematics instructional material, said Charisse Berner, director of curriculum and professional development.

Amy Daybert: 425-339-3491,

More in Life

Expo in Stanwood can help you get ready for the country

The Country Living Expo and Cattlemen’s Winterschool is set for Jan. 27 at the high school.

Curries continues home-cooked Indian cuisine at new location

The restaurant, now located on Evergreen Way, also puts an Indian spin on Northwest cooking.

Want to buy a house this year? Here’s how to start saving up

Here are five ways to help you put 10 percent of your income per year toward buying a house.

Beer of the Week: Scuttlebutt’s Night Circus

The Everett brewery’s head brewer had nightmares trying to dial in its new coffee and coconut ale.

A visit to the nursery helps put you in the mood to garden

Not ready to get back into gardening? January is still a fun time to poke around a garden center.

Plant of Merit: Hybrid oriental hellebores, Lenten rose

What: Oriental hybrid hellebores, with the common name Lenten rose, are a… Continue reading

Long rocking bench with strange fence is for protecting baby

The settee is a furniture form that dates to the 1810s. It’s a lengthened Windsor or Hitchcock chair.

Home and Garden calendar for Snohomish County and beyond

“The Promise of Spring”: Plant sale and workshops by Northwest Perennial Alliance,… Continue reading

‘Portlandia’ ending after eight seasons of lampooning hipsters

The sketch comedy series launched its final season this week.

Most Read