School Winners: Semifinalists named for National Merit scholars

  • Fri Oct 12th, 2012 5:26pm
  • Life

Semifinalists named in National Merit Scholarship Program

Semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program were recently announced.

The approximately 16,000 high school seniors throughout the country who were named semifinalists now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million. The scholarships are set to be offered in the spring.

Semifinalists in Snohomish and Island counties include:

Camano Island: Christine Wolf, home school.

Edmonds: Emma Spence and Scarlett Strauss, Edmonds-Woodway High School.

Everett: Deborah Peterson, Everett High School; Mariah Conley, Alexander Leat and Max Vilgalys, Archbishop Murphy High School.

Granite Falls: Jessy Benthin, Granite Falls High School.

Lake Stevens: Alan Brazelton, Lake Stevens High School.

Lynnwood: Rachael Lee, Meadowdale High School.

Mill Creek: Eunice Chu and Christopher Steckler, Henry M. Jackson High School.

Mukilteo: Kevin Baron, Sanjay Chepuri, Alice Huang, Younsu Kim, Yvana Tran, and Julie Xia, Kamiak High School.

Oak Harbor: Jacob Fitzgerald, home school.

Snohomish: Bailey Ingalls, Glacier Peak High School; Anna Pisac, Snohomish High School.

MLT senior selected for Honor Society

Amanda Granberg, a senior at Mountlake Terrace High School, has been selected for membership in the National Society for High School Scholars.

To submit news for School Winners, contact reporter Amy Daybert: 425-339-3491; or email