Edmonds, Lynnwood, Mountlake Terrace council leaders chosen

City council members have chosen Diane Buckshnis as Edmonds council president, Loren Simmonds as Lynnwood council president and Jerry Smith as Mountlake Terrace mayor.

Buckshnis is new to her position, while both Simmonds and Smith continue in positions they held before this year.

As council presidents in mayor-council governments in Edmonds and Lynnwood, Buckshnis and Simmonds set the council agendas and preside over the council in the mayor’s absence. As mayor in Mountlake Terrace’s council-manager system, Smith presides over council meetings and does the ceremonial duties of a mayor, while the appointed city manager runs the day-to-day operations of government.

Simmonds has served on the Lynnwood Council since winning election in 1999. Smith first won election to the Mountlake Terrace Council in 2001. Buckshnis joined the Edmonds Council in 2010 and won a full four-year term in the 2011 election.

The councils elected their leaders at their first meetings in January.

In addition, the Edmonds City Council selected Councilwoman Kristiana Johnson as council president pro-tem; the Lynnwood Council elected Councilman Sid Roberts as council vice president; and the Mountlake Terrace Council picked Councilwoman Laura Sonmore as mayor-pro-tem.

Johnson won appointment to the Edmonds Council in 2013 and election to a four-year term later in the year. Roberts won election in 2011. Sonmore joined the Mountlake Terrace Council by appointment in 2000 and won elections in 2001, 2003, 2007 and 2011.

More in Local News

Man, 29, injured by shots fired at Everett thrift store

The gunfire followed an argument in the parking lot of Value Village on Evergreen Way.

Inslee’s budget solves school funding with help from carbon

His budget would use reserves to boost education, then replenish them with a carbon tax or fee.

Police: He made an appointment, then tried to rob the bank

A lawyer is accused of donning a fake beard and telling a teller that a gunman was outside.

Drive-by shooting reported in Marysville neighborhood

Police said there was no evidence to indicate it was targeted at a specific person or property.

Celebrating the origins of Christmas

LDS church holds annual nativity festival featuring more than 600 sets.

Trooper’s car struck when he was arresting man for DUI

She drove away but was arrested for investigation of driving under the influence and hit-and-run.

Police looking for leads in case of missing Snohomish man

Henry John Groeneveld, 63, was last seen on Monday, when he said something about going to “the river.”

Lynnwood robbery leads to lockdown at Edmonds schools

Edmonds police said it was just a precaution as they search around Edmonds-Woodway High School.

Marysville 7-Eleven hit by armed robbers

Officers set up a perimeter and brought in a police dog, but the man couldn’t be found.

Most Read