Dirt Cup attracting another stellar field of drivers

  • Tue Jun 12th, 2012 9:35pm
  • Sports

Herald news services

ALGER — National and regional sprint car stars from all across the USA are converging on Skagit Speedway for the 41st running of the Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup, which begins this Thursday and runs through Saturday.

The top three finishers in last year’s Dirt Cup, led by defendiing champion Jonathan Allard, return battle on the three-tenths of a mile clay oval. The race has $160,000 in guaranteed purse with the winner earning $25,000.

In 2011, Allard, of Chico, Calif., captured his third Dirt Cup with a wire-to-wire win, tying him for the second most Dirt Cup wins of all time.

Tim Kaeding, who finished second last year, and National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Jac Haudenschild, who ran third a year ago, will be looking to unseat Allard.

The field also includes:

w Former ASCS National and Knoxville 360 National Champion Shane Stewart. Stewart also is a two-time Dirt Cup champion and he won both preliminary nights of the 2011 Dirt Cup.

w Former World of Outlaws star Jason Solwold.

w Former Dirt Cup champion Jayme Barnes.

Other notable drivers include Travis Rilat, a former ASCS National Champion; Sam Hafertepe; Roger Crockett; and a local group led by Eric Fisher, the current 410 points leader at Skagit Speedway.

Ticket information and preferred lodging recommendations are available by phone at 360.724.3567 or at www.skagitspeedway.com