Former Seahawks LT Jones named Hall of Fame finalist

  • Thu Jan 9th, 2014 8:25pm
  • Sports

By Todd Dybas and Don Ruiz The News Tribune

Walter Jones was named one of 15 Hall of Fame finalists for 2014 on Thursday.

Jones is fourth in Seahawks history in games played after 13 seasons at left tackle during which he started all 180 games he played. He was named to the Pro Bowl nine times and All-Pro seven times. His “71” is retired in the Seahawks’ Ring of Honor.

Jones is hoping to get into the hall on his first chance — which is projected to be the case — and admitted it would be a disappointment if he did not.

“I think any time you can get that title … first-ballot Hall of Fame? That’s a great title,” Jones said Thursday. “I think just being in the Hall of Fame would be a great title. Would it be a letdown (if he didn’t get in the first time)? Probably will, but I think it’s still a moment that is going to be exciting whenever it happens. If it happens this year, it’s going to be exciting. If it happens two years from now, it’s going to be exciting. For me to be on that list is amazing. To be on that list and to be able to play with one team is exciting, too. I’m excited to be a product of the Seattle Seahawks and to have my whole career here in Seattle.”

Jones was at left tackle for the franchise’s only Super Bowl appearance in 2005 at Super Bowl XL. Not surprisingly, Jones would take his 2005 team over this current Seahawks squad.

“We’d dominate, man, ….” Jones said. “We set the standard, I believe in our team, I wouldn’t go against that team. It was a fun ride, I think this team is special … this team has a chance to do something we didn’t get a chance to do, that’s to win a Super Bowl. I can’t wait to see what happens.”

First-year nominees Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy and Marvin Harrison were also among the modern-era finalists.

Michael Strahan was selected a modern-era finalist along with Charles Haley, Kevin Greene, Andre Reed, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, John Lynch, Will Shields, Aeneas Williams, Morten Andersen and Edward DeBartolo Jr. Senior nominees Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey were announced in August.

The 46-member selection committee will vote Feb. 1 in New York, with a minimum 80 percent required for induction.