Former WSU, UW players named to Pac-12 Hall of Honor

  • Wed Feb 8th, 2012 2:06pm
  • Sports

Herald news services

Former Washington State basketball star Steve Puidokas and former University of Washington basketball standout George Irvine are among 12 new inductees into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor.

Puidokas played four years at WSU in the mid-1970s and when he left he was the all-time leading scorer with 1,894 points and all-time leading rebounder with 992 rebounds. He still holds the WSU career marks for scoring average (18.6 points per game), field goals (734), and rebounds.

He was chosen in the third round of the 1976 NBA draft, but played 14 years in Italy before dying of a heart attack at age 40.

Irvine was a three-year starter for the Huskies (1968-70). He led Washington in scoring in his junior and senior seasons. He went on to play seven years in the American Basketball Association.

The other inductees included Richard Jefferson (Arizona), Kurt Nimphius (Arizona State), Lamond Murray (California), Burdette Haldorson (Colorado), Jim Barnett (Oregon), A.C. Green (Oregon State), George Selleck (Stanford), Ed O’Bannon (UCLA), Sam Barry (USC) and Arnie Ferrin (Utah).