Local football all-state honorees

  • Fri Dec 16th, 2011 6:16pm
  • Sports

Associated Press

Despite missing three games this season due to injury, Mariner running back KeiVarae Russell was still honored for his efforts.

Russell, who ran for 1,293 yards and 14 touchdowns this season, was named to the Class 4A 2011 Associated Press Washington all-state first team as a running back.

Russell was joined on the offensive side by Lake Stevens wide receiver Christian Gasca, who caught 73 passes for 1,166 yards and 18 touchdowns, and Snohomish defensive back Russell Crippen made the first team on defense.

“I feel amazed. I thought missing three games would greatly set me back from being first-team all-area let alone all-state,” Russell said in a text on Friday night. “It feels great. If feels like everyone in the community and state is recognizing my ability. I thank my team and community.”

In 2A, Archbishop Murphy linebacker Sam Shober was named to the all-state first team and was honorable mention at offensive line. King’s quarterback Billy Green was first-team in 1A.

For the complete list of Washington all-state football selections, clickhere

Lake Stevens offensive lineman Cody Tupen and linebacker Korey Young were both honorable mention and Arlington’s Colten Hordyk was honorable mention as all-purpose player. Meadowdale’s Kyler Larsen was honorable mention as a defensive back.

Skyline junior quarterback Max Browne was voted the player of the year after leading the Spartans to the Class 4A state title. He’s the third player from Skyline in the past four years to be named the state player of the year, joining former QB Jake Heaps and wide receiver Kasen Williams.

Browne edged out Bellevue’s Tyler Hasty for the state player of the year award. Hasty was named the Class 3A player of the year.

Interlake’s record-setting running back Jordan Todd was voted the player of the year in Class 2A, while BYU-bound running back Matt Hadley from Connell was the Class 1A honoree. In the small schools, Waitsburg-Prescott quarterback Zack Bartlow was named player of the year, while Neah Bay sophomore Josiah Green earned the honor in Class 1B.

Voting is conducted by sports writers and editors from around the state of Washington.