MLB clarifies possession on forceouts

NEW YORK — Baseball clarified the meaning of possession for infielders trying to turn double plays on forceouts, saying on Friday that they must have complete control of the ball but may drop it after intentionally opening their gloves for transfers to their throwing hands.

In the first season of expanded instant replay, when infielders have possession while trying to turn double plays has become controversial.

Major League Baseball said the interpretation of the Playing Rules Committee was agreed to by MLB, the players’ association and the umpires’ union.

MLB said that the committee, chaired by New York Mets general manager Sandy Alderson, determined “a legal catch has occurred … if the fielder had complete control over the ball in his glove, but drops the ball after intentionally opening his glove to make the transfer to his throwing hand.”

“There is no requirement that the fielder successfully remove the ball from his glove in order for it be ruled a catch,” the committee said. “If the fielder drops the ball while attempting to remove it to make a throw, the umpires should rule that the ball had been caught, provided that the fielder had secured it in his glove before attempting the transfer.”

The committee also said “the umpires will continue to use their judgment as to whether the fielder had complete control over the ball before the transfer.”

More in Sports

WSU defensive lineman voted a first-team All-American

Washington’s Pettis and WSU’s O’Connell make the second team; UW’s Vea earns a spot on the third team

Community roundup: Local runners help win a national title

Club Northwest won the Men’s Masters division at the USATF National Club Cross Country Championships

It’s official: NL MVP Stanton now slugging for the Yankees

The Yankees announce they have acquired the slugger from the Marlins in a four-player deal

VIDEO: An introduction to competitive orienteering

Several Snohomish County high schools compete in the Washington Interscholastic Orienteering League.

BLOG: Carter Hart named WHL Goalie of the Week (yes, again)

Carter Hart has been named the WHL Goaltender of the Week for… Continue reading

An ugly ending as Seahawks lose to Jaguars, 30-24

The other bad news: The Jacksonville Jaguars intercepted Russell Wilson three times.

All Cs and Ds: Grading the Seahawks in loss to Jaguars

Seattle’s defensive unit earns one of its lowest marks of the season.

Seahawks gave the Jaguars a scare in the fourth quarter

Down 27-10, Seattle rallied with a pair of long touchdown passes.

Silvertips run their winning streak to nine straight

Bryce Kindopp scores the winning goal with 18 remaining in a 4-3 victory over Tri-City

Most Read