NLL MVP to be announced on Thursday

  • By Aaron Lommers Herald Writer
  • Wednesday, May 2, 2012 11:05pm
  • SportsSports

The National Lacrosse League will begin announcing its awards for the 2012 season beginning on Thursday with the Most Valuable Player award.

Over the next three weeks the NLL will announce all of its yearly awards. Here is a schedule of the announcements.

Thursday, May 3: Most Valuable Player, presented by Reebok Lacrosse

Friday, May 4: Rookie of the Year, presented by Thunder Tribe Energy Shot

Monday, May 7: Sportsmanship Award

Tuesday, May 8: General Manager of the Year

Wednesday, May 9: The Les Bartley Award (Head Coach of the Year)

Thursday, May 10: Goaltender of the Year

Monday May 14: Defensive Player of the Year

Tuesday May 15: Transition Player of the Year

Wednesday, May 16: All-Rookie Team

Thursday, May 17: All-Pro Teams

Tuesday May 22 Executive of the Year

Wednesday May 23 Media Person of the Year

More in Sports

There’s more to successful hockey than scoring goals

Everett winger Bryce Kindopp has been quietly contributing in many ways to the team’s success.

Seahawks sticking behind kicker Walsh despite struggles

Coach Pete Carroll says ‘He’s our guy,’ and the former Viking says he’s still as confident as ever.

A look at how the Huskies built their strength at linebacker

Tevis Bartlett, Keishawn Bierria and Ben Burr-Kirven all took different paths to starting roles with UW.

UW men’s basketball to retire Tacoma native Thomas’ No. 2 jersey

The NBA All-Star will be honored in Seattle during the Huskies’ Feb. 15 game against Utah.

Thursday’s prep results, with links to recaps

Here are Thursday’s prep sports results, with links to recaps: BOYS BASKETBALL… Continue reading

Mariners pick up first baseman Ford from Yankees in Rule 5 Draft

Ford spent last season in Double-A and Triple-A.

Moses Lake wrestling tops Lake Stevens 36-30 in dual

The Vikings battled to the last bout with the Chiefs, but couldn’t pull out the victory.

Three Storm players included in national team pool

Four-time Olympic gold medalist Sue Bird headlines the group

Thiel: Since his arrival, Brown has solidified Hawks’ O-line

Seattle’s O-line has gone from disaster to competent in just a few short weeks, thanks to their new LT.

Most Read