By John Boyle
Wayne Elliott, the replacement official who became enemy No. 1 in Green Bay when he awarded a touchdown to Golden Tate to give the Seahawks a final-play victory over the Packers on Monday Night Football, admitted on Showtime’s “Inside the NFL” that he probably got that call wrong.
An ESPN.com article gives some from highlights Elliott’s interview with Showtime, including him saying that, after seeing a replay and learning more about the simultaneous catch rule, “I’d probably call interception. I learned a rule by screwing up the rule.”
As for the offensive pass interference that went uncalled, Elliott explained that in their training, officials were told, “You don’t really call interference on a Hail Mary. … You just let it go.”