SOUTH COUNTY POLITICS: Rep. Kagi will not run for Senate

  • Tue May 18th, 2010 7:51pm

By Evan Smith Enterprise political columnist

State Rep. Ruth Kagi told me late Monday that she won’t run for the 32nd District state Senate seat that Sen. Darlene Fairley is vacating.

Last week, the 32nd District Democratic Committee voted to nominate Rep. Maralyn Chase for the Senate, former Shoreline City Councilwoman Cindy Ryu for Chase’s House seat and Kagi for re-election to the House.

Meanwhile, state Senate Democrats were pressuring Kagi to run for the Senate. A week ago, she was weighing the Senate run against a safe re-election run for the House, where she is an influential member.

She sent me this note Monday:

“After careful consideration and many conversations with thoughtful friends and colleagues, I have concluded that it does not make sense to give up chairmanship of the early learning and children’s services committee and the seniority I have in the House to run for the Senate. My current position allows me to provide leadership at the state and national level on a range of children’s and education issues.”

21st District GOP still looking for challenger to Shin

Democratic state Sen. Paull Shin still doesn’t have an announced opponent, but 21st District Republican Chairman Tom Prigmore says that he’s been working hard to find a challenger.

State Reps. Marko Liias and Mary Helen Roberts both have announced Republican opponents, Ed Borey for Roberts, both Elizabeth Scott and Alan Tagle for Liias. Prigmore said Monday that Tagle is unknown to the district Republican organization.

He said district Republicans would decide June 3 whether to endorse candidates.

Legislative nominees in 1st and 44th districts

Democratic committees in the 1st and 44th legislative districts have nominated candidates.

Democratic precinct committee officers in the 44th District have voted to nominate state Sen. Steve Hobbs and Rep. Hans Dunshee for re-election and Lake Stevens School Board member John Boerger to oppose Republican Rep. Mike Hope. A Democrat and two Republicans have declared their candidacy against Hobbs. District Republican Chairman Doug Roulstone tells me that the party won’t endorse a candidate.

Democratic PCOs in the 1st District voted last week to support Luis Moscoso for the position that Democratic state Rep. Mark Ericks will vacate. Moscoso and Republican Heidi Munson are the only declared candidates for Ericks’ seat.

The Democratic Precint Committee Officers also voted to support Derek Stanford for retiring Democratic state Rep. Al O’Brien’s position. Democrats Nicholas Carlson, Vincent Demiero, Kirstin Haugen, Judy Janes and Sherry Kranick, and Republican Dennis Richter also have declared for the position.

Evan Smith can be reached at