Snohomish County legislative districts

How to contact your state lawmakers

With a virtual 2021 session, a phone call or email will be your primary means of reaching them.

The 2021 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 105 days.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it will be unlike any prior session.

Committee hearings will be conducted online. Those wishing to testify must do so remotely via Zoom. In each chamber, floor sessions will occur with only a minimal number of lawmakers and staff present. TVW will provide live gavel-to-gavel coverage on air and streaming online, as in the past.

Democrats continue to enjoy a trifecta of power with control of the House, the Senate and the governor’s mansion. Their agenda includes new taxes, a low carbon fuel standard for gasoline, policing reforms and measures addressing social injustice and economic inequity.

Republicans will seek to rein in the emergency power of governors — a response to Gov. Jay Inslee’s unchecked authority during the pandemic — and find bipartisan agreement on ways to aid struggling families and small businesses.

105 days: In odd years, when a two-year operating budget is adopted, lawmakers meet for 105 days. In even years, the Legislature meets for 60 days. The last scheduled day this year: April 26.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.

How to participate and keep tabs on them

To testify at committee hearing: app.leg.wa.gov/csiremote

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel: www.tvw.org

Washington Legislature: www.leg.wa.gov

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield | @dospueblos on Twitter


 

1st District

Senate

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Rep. Debra Lekanoff, D-40

Rep. Debra Lekanoff, D-40

Davina Duerr

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


 

10th District

Senate

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: Ron.Muzzall@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Republican, Camano Island

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: greg.gilday@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


 

21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


 

32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


 

38th District

Senate

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: emily.wicks@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


 

39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


 

44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

April Berg

April Berg

April Berg

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: april.berg@leg.wa.gov

 

Talk to us

More in Local News

Mill Creek Police at the scene of a fatal car accident on Friday, Oct. 15, 2021. (Mill Creek Police)
Police investigating Mill Creek collision where man died

A stretch of 35th Ave SE was expected to be closed for a few hours Friday night.

The aftermath of a fire that damaged a unit at the Villas at Lakewood apartment complex in Marysville on Saturday. (Marysville Fire District)
2 families displaced by Marysville apartment fire

Nobody was injured when the fire broke out Saturday morning on 27th Avenue NE.

Gold Bar man airlifted after trying to start fire with gas

The man suffered severe burns after he used gasoline to start a fire in his yard.

Get ready for La Niña and a soggy winter in Snohomish County

After a hot, dry summer, Washington feels like Washington again. Damp. Gray. Normal.

Voting thing
Decision time: Ballots on their way to a half-million voters

Races for mayor, city councils and school boards are focal point of the Nov. 2 election in Snohomish County.

Executive Officer Joseph Gunta reaches out to hug his daughter Charlotte, 2, after arriving on the USS John S. McCain in Everett on Friday, Oct. 15, 2021. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
After 24 years abroad, USS John S. McCain calls Everett home

The ship brings with it over 300 sailors and their families to the area from Yokosuka, Japan.

Everett firefighter who got cancer settles for $1.2M

It marks the end of a decade-long saga that started when Michael Weaver was diagnosed with melanoma in 2011.

Community Transit is preparing to shift commuter buses that go to the University of Washington in Seattle to connect with Link light rail in Northgate next year. (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
Union: Community Transit vaccine mandate puts jobs in ‘jeopardy’

Meanwhile, at King County Metro, a similar mandate has significantly boosted vaccination rates.

Kevin Gallagher (from the Snohomish County Official Local Voters’ Pamphlet November 2, 2021 General Election)
Kevin Gallagher, a Marysville City Council candidate, dies

Kevin Gallagher, 52, died at home of natural causes. He was challenging incumbent Councilmember Tom King.

Most Read