Snohomish County legislative districts

How to contact your state lawmakers

With a virtual 2021 session, a phone call or email will be your primary means of reaching them.

The 2021 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 105 days.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it will be unlike any prior session.

Committee hearings will be conducted online. Those wishing to testify must do so remotely via Zoom. In each chamber, floor sessions will occur with only a minimal number of lawmakers and staff present. TVW will provide live gavel-to-gavel coverage on air and streaming online, as in the past.

Democrats continue to enjoy a trifecta of power with control of the House, the Senate and the governor’s mansion. Their agenda includes new taxes, a low carbon fuel standard for gasoline, policing reforms and measures addressing social injustice and economic inequity.

Republicans will seek to rein in the emergency power of governors — a response to Gov. Jay Inslee’s unchecked authority during the pandemic — and find bipartisan agreement on ways to aid struggling families and small businesses.

105 days: In odd years, when a two-year operating budget is adopted, lawmakers meet for 105 days. In even years, the Legislature meets for 60 days. The last scheduled day this year: April 26.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.

How to participate and keep tabs on them

To testify at committee hearing: app.leg.wa.gov/csiremote

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel: www.tvw.org

Washington Legislature: www.leg.wa.gov

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield | @dospueblos on Twitter


 

1st District

Senate

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Rep. Debra Lekanoff, D-40

Rep. Debra Lekanoff, D-40

Davina Duerr

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


 

10th District

Senate

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: Ron.Muzzall@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Republican, Camano Island

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: greg.gilday@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


 

21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


 

32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


 

38th District

Senate

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: emily.wicks@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


 

39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


 

44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

April Berg

April Berg

April Berg

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: april.berg@leg.wa.gov

 

Talk to us

More in Local News

Garry Clark
Economic Alliance Snohomish County names new CEO

After nationwide search, Garry Clark, a Nebraska business advocate, will take the helm in February.

A Mob City jammer, "CMonster," skates in a holiday scrimmage at the Everett Skate Deck on Dec. 9, 2018. An online fundraising effort has been started to help support the skating venue during the pandemic. (Anthony Floyd photo)
Skate Deck hopes to open for customers, not take donations

A roller skating coach has launched an online fundraiser, wants to help the place he fears may close.

The Lynnwood Link light rail extension breached the 25% milestone for construction in Mountlake Terrace shot on Wednesday December 16, 2020. (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
Sound Transit projects ahead could need another $11.5 billion

Costs for construction and property have soared as revenue dropped during the pandemic.

Man shoots alleged intruder in Everett

Police were investigating after a male was shot and hospitalized.

Marysville Pilchuck High School senior Katelyn Leary is a recipient of the 2020 Legion of Valor Bronze Cross for Achievement Award. (Marysville School District)
Marysville Pilchuck senior wins Bronze Cross achievement

Goodie bags in Granite Falls connect teacher with her students Missing the… Continue reading

Man and cat die in Everett apartment fire

Firefighters responded to a smoky second-story unit. A cigarette may have set a mattress on fire.

$300 unemployment supplement headed to bank accounts

The Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation will be available for up to 11 weeks.

Scarcity of vaccine doses slows rollout in Snohomish County

Despite qualifying for the vaccine, people over age 65 may have to wait weeks for a shot.

Idamae Schack died Jan. 7 at age 102. She and her husband John Schack gave millions of dollars to support local arts and cultural organizations. The Schack Art Center is named in their honor. (Michael O'Leary/Herald file photo)
Idamae Schack, an angel of the arts in Everett, dies at 102

She and her husband John Schack donated millions of dollars to support cultural causes in Everett.

Most Read