Snohomish County legislative districts

How to contact your state lawmakers

With a virtual 2021 session, a phone call or email will be your primary means of reaching them.

The 2021 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 105 days.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it will be unlike any prior session.

Committee hearings will be conducted online. Those wishing to testify must do so remotely via Zoom. In each chamber, floor sessions will occur with only a minimal number of lawmakers and staff present. TVW will provide live gavel-to-gavel coverage on air and streaming online, as in the past.

Democrats continue to enjoy a trifecta of power with control of the House, the Senate and the governor’s mansion. Their agenda includes new taxes, a low carbon fuel standard for gasoline, policing reforms and measures addressing social injustice and economic inequity.

Republicans will seek to rein in the emergency power of governors — a response to Gov. Jay Inslee’s unchecked authority during the pandemic — and find bipartisan agreement on ways to aid struggling families and small businesses.

105 days: In odd years, when a two-year operating budget is adopted, lawmakers meet for 105 days. In even years, the Legislature meets for 60 days. The last scheduled day this year: April 26.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.

How to participate and keep tabs on them

To testify at committee hearing: app.leg.wa.gov/csiremote

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel: www.tvw.org

Washington Legislature: www.leg.wa.gov

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield | @dospueblos on Twitter


 

1st District

Senate

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Rep. Debra Lekanoff, D-40

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


 

10th District

Senate

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: Ron.Muzzall@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Republican, Camano Island

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: greg.gilday@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


 

21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


 

32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


 

38th District

Senate

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: emily.wicks@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


 

39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


 

44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

April Berg

April Berg

April Berg

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: april.berg@leg.wa.gov

 

Talk to us

More in Local News

Snohomish County Jail. (Sue Misao / Herald file)
As omicron surges, frustrations and challenges mount in correction facilities

More than 10% of those in state prisons are infected. “We’re kind of in this Twilight Zone cycle,” one prisoner said.

The Washington National Guard arrived Friday at Providence Regional Medical Center Everett to help with a surge of COVID-19 cases at the hospital. (Providence) 20220121
State offers free home tests; National Guard arrives in Everett

Supply is limited at a new online portal, but Washingtonians can now order five free rapid COVID tests.

vote
Ballots sent for special election on public schools’ funding

Levies to pay for staff, programs, computers and capital projects are on the Feb. 8 ballot across Snohomish County.

FILE - Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson talks to reporters, Monday, Aug. 26, 2019, during a news conference in Seattle. In a 5-4 decision Thursday, Jan. 20, 2022, the Washington Supreme Court upheld an $18 million campaign finance penalty against the Consumer Brands Association, formerly known as the Grocery Manufacturers Association. Ferguson sued the group in 2013, alleging that it spent $11 million to oppose a ballot initiative without registering as a political committee or disclosing the source of the money. (AP Photo/Ted S. Warren)
Washington justices uphold $18M fine in GMO-labeling case

Big grocers funneled dark money into a campaign against genetically modified labels on food packaging.

Closing this bedroom door during an apartment fire in Everett helped contain flames, smoke and carbon monoxide, firefighters say. (Everett Fire Department) 20220120
Crucial move during Everett fire: Closing the bedroom door

Two residents were rescued from a bedroom at the Riverdale Apartments. In all, three were injured.

Judge: Sex abuse of former Marysville student violated law

A woman sued the district last year, accusing a longtime art teacher of sexual abuse in the 1980s.

Police respond in downtown Everett after a man collapsed with a gunshot wound Nov. 27, 2021. He later died. (Caleb Hutton / Herald file)
Everett police continue to investigate November killing

Jerome Burnett, 48, died at the hospital. A suspect fled, according to police.

Connie L. Bigelow at her store Miniatures & More in Edmonds on Tuesday. (Janice Podsada / The Herald)
Woman who lit her own Edmonds doll store on fire gets house arrest

Connie Bigelow, 54, was sentenced Friday in federal court for lighting her business on fire to collect insurance money.

People across Snohomish County share their thoughts on two years of life during the pandemic. 20220123
Anxious, weary, hopeful: How we’re coping with COVID

The pandemic has taken a toll in Snohomish County, where the first U.S. case was confirmed. Here’s a time capsule of life in 2022.

Most Read