Snohomish County legislative districts

Snohomish County legislative districts

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

This year it’s a 105-day session in Olympia. Democrats control everything.

The 2019 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 105 days. Democrats will enjoy a trifecta of political power with control of the House, Senate and governor’s mansion. Republicans vow to seek out areas for bipartisan agreement such as improving mental health services and reducing homelessness. The one task they must complete is passage of a new two-year state budget.

105 Days: In odd years, when a budget is adopted, the Legislature meets for 105 days. In even years it is 60 days. Last scheduled day: April 28, 2019.

152,000: Approximate average population per Washington legislative district.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is also a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.


1st District

Senate

Guy Palumbo

Guy Palumbo

Guy Palumbo

Democrat, Maltby

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: guy.palumbo@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


10th District

Senate

Barbara Bailey

Barbara Bailey

Barbara Bailey

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Republican, Clinton

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


38th District

Senate

John McCoy

John McCoy

John McCoy

Democrat, Tulalip

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: jared.mead@leg.wa.gov


How to monitor their work

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org

Legislature website, for information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: leg.wa.gov

News from Olympia by Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield, @dospueblos

Talk to us

More in Local News

Possible rare ‘seven-armed octopus’ found on Whidbey beach

Scientists from across the nation believe it’s most likely a specimen of Haliphron atlanticus.

Don’t miss out on up to $1,800 in unemployment back pay

The state says its ready to send out payments from a federal program. Certification is due Sunday.

Gold Bar ex-councilman gets federal prison for child porn

Brian Diaz, a pharmacist and genetic researcher, is still awaiting trial for possession of methamphetamine.

Rain and wind wash away much of the smoke, but be cautious

The air was expected to be potentially hazardous in most areas of Snohomish County until Saturday morning.

Suicide Prevention Month a reminder that help is available

Online or by phone, resources are widely accessible as millions struggle with mental health.

New U.S. 2 roundabout sought by state, Sultan at Main Street

Traffic through the town is a nightmare for locals. Swapping the signal for a roundabout could help.

Mill Creek’s new mayor breaks silence over city manager

The City Council said Michael Ciaravino is meeting expectations, but some areas need improvement.

Way to go

Two awarded horticultural scholarship; Camano racer wins big

Most Read