How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

The 2018 session of the Washington Legislature in Olympia runs from Jan. 8 to March 8.

The 2018 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 60 days but don’t be shocked if it lasts longer. Lawmakers toiled a record-setting 193 days in 2017, a marathon in which they wrote a new state budget and worked out a solution to the vexing problem of public school funding. However, they left a small pile of unfinished business for this year.

60 Days: In odd years, when a new two-year budget is adopted, the Legislature meets for 105 days. In even years it is 60 days. Last scheduled day: March 8, 2018.

137,000: Approximate average population per Washington legislative district.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for senators and representatives at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline enables callers to track the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You also can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. That information can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.

1st District

Senate
Guy Palumbo
Democrat, Maltby
Office: 360-786-7600
Email: guy.palumbo@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Derek Stanford
Democrat, Bothell
Office: 360-786-7928
Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Shelley Kloba
Democrat, Kirkland
Office: 360-786-7900
Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov

10th District

Senate
Barbara Bailey
Republican, Oak Harbor
Office: 360-786-7618
Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Norma Smith
Republican, Clinton
Office: 360-786-7884
Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Dave Hayes
Republican, Camano Island
Office: 360-786-7914
Email: dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov

21st District

Senate
Marko Liias
Democrat, Lynnwood
Office: 360-786-7640
Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Strom Peterson
Democrat, Edmonds
Office: 360-786-7950
Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Lillian Ortiz-Self
Democrat, Mukilteo
Office: 360-786-7972
Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

32nd District

Senate
Maralyn Chase
Democrat, Shoreline
Office: 360-786-7662
Email: maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Cindy Ryu
Democrat, Shoreline
Office: 360-786-7880
Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Ruth Kagi
Democrat, Seattle
Office: 360-786-7910
Email: ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

38th District

Senate
John McCoy
Democrat, Tulalip
Office: 360-786-7674
Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
June Robinson
Democrat, Everett
Office: 360-786-7864
Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Mike Sells
Democrat, Everett
Office: 360-786-7840
Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

39th District

Senate
Keith Wagoner
Republican, Sedro-Woolley
Office: 360-786-7676
Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Dan Kristiansen
Republican, Snohomish
Office: 360-786-7967
Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Carolyn Eslick
Republican, Sultan
Office: 360-786-7816
Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov

44th District

Senate
Steve Hobbs
Democrat, Lake Stevens
Office: 360-786-7686
Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
John Lovick
Democrat, Mill Creek
Office: 360-786-7804
Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Mark Harmsworth
Republican, Mill Creek
Office: 360-786-7892
Email: mark.harmsworth@leg.wa.gov

TV coverage

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org.

Legislature website

Information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: leg.wa.gov.

News from Olympia

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield reports from the Capitol: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield/

On Twitter: @dospueblos

Talk to us

More in Local News

Lynnwood Public Works employees on the snow plow crew sit in front of one of the city's two plows that will be named based on results of an online public vote. (City of Lynnwood)
Lynnwood snow plow names: Snowbi Wan Kenobi, Plowy McPlowface

They got the two highest votes in an online public survey by Lynnwood Public Works.

2021 survey results from the State Broadband Survey for Snohomish County. (Washington State Department of Commerce)
$16M grant to speed up broadband to north Snohomish County

In Darrington and elsewhere, rural residents have struggled to work remotely during the pandemic. A new project aims to help.

Christa Meyer, residential physical therapist in Mountlake Terrace, Washington, plays Wordle daily. (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
What in the world is Wordle? It’s an online game C-R-A-Z-E

Solving the daily five-letter brain teaser in six tries is the latest social media obsession.

Logo for news use featuring the municipality of Everett in Snohomish County, Washington. 220118
Woman’s foot burned in south Everett apartment fire

Everyone escaped the fire that scorched a third-floor unit Monday night.

Police: Everett man left family member with life-threatening injuries

An Everett man, 23, was in jail on $100,000 bail after being accused of confronting women and attacking a relative.

Michelle Roth is a registered nurse in the Providence Emergency Department on Sunday, January 23, 2022. (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
Nurses face burnout as hospital staffing shortage continues

‘It feels like there has been a mass exodus in the last two to three months.’

Branden McKinnon (Family photo)
Lawsuit blames mother’s unsecured gun for Marysville boy’s death

Branden McKinnon, 12, got hold of a gun belonging to his mother, a Department of Corrections lieutenant. His father is suing.

Registered nurse Estella Wilmarth tends to a patient in the acute care unit of Harborview Medical Center, Friday, Jan. 14, 2022, in Seattle. Washington Gov. Jay Inslee is deploying 100 members of the state National Guard to hospitals across the state amid staff shortages due to an omicron-fueled spike in COVID-19 hospitalizations. Inslee announced Thursday that teams will be deployed to assist four overcrowded emergency departments at hospitals in Everett, Yakima, Wenatchee and Spokane, and that testing teams will be based at hospitals in Olympia, Richland, Seattle and Tacoma. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)
Past the omicron peak? Snohomish County’s COVID cases declining

Hospitalizations are still a concern, however, and infections in Eastern Washington and Idaho could have ripple effects here.

The tower of Paine Field Airport stands in a fog bank forcing flights to be averted or cancelled in Everett, Washington on January 25, 2022. (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
More 5G-related cancellations as Paine Field fog persists

The FAA has not cleared certain planes to land in low visibility in Everett due to nearby 5G cellular towers.

Most Read