How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

The 2018 session of the Washington Legislature in Olympia runs from Jan. 8 to March 8.

The 2018 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 60 days but don’t be shocked if it lasts longer. Lawmakers toiled a record-setting 193 days in 2017, a marathon in which they wrote a new state budget and worked out a solution to the vexing problem of public school funding. However, they left a small pile of unfinished business for this year.

60 Days: In odd years, when a new two-year budget is adopted, the Legislature meets for 105 days. In even years it is 60 days. Last scheduled day: March 8, 2018.

137,000: Approximate average population per Washington legislative district.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for senators and representatives at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline enables callers to track the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You also can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. That information can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.

1st District

Senate
Guy Palumbo
Democrat, Maltby
Office: 360-786-7600
Email: guy.palumbo@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Derek Stanford
Democrat, Bothell
Office: 360-786-7928
Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Shelley Kloba
Democrat, Kirkland
Office: 360-786-7900
Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov

10th District

Senate
Barbara Bailey
Republican, Oak Harbor
Office: 360-786-7618
Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Norma Smith
Republican, Clinton
Office: 360-786-7884
Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Dave Hayes
Republican, Camano Island
Office: 360-786-7914
Email: dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov

21st District

Senate
Marko Liias
Democrat, Lynnwood
Office: 360-786-7640
Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Strom Peterson
Democrat, Edmonds
Office: 360-786-7950
Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Lillian Ortiz-Self
Democrat, Mukilteo
Office: 360-786-7972
Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

32nd District

Senate
Maralyn Chase
Democrat, Shoreline
Office: 360-786-7662
Email: maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Cindy Ryu
Democrat, Shoreline
Office: 360-786-7880
Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Ruth Kagi
Democrat, Seattle
Office: 360-786-7910
Email: ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

38th District

Senate
John McCoy
Democrat, Tulalip
Office: 360-786-7674
Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
June Robinson
Democrat, Everett
Office: 360-786-7864
Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Mike Sells
Democrat, Everett
Office: 360-786-7840
Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

39th District

Senate
Keith Wagoner
Republican, Sedro-Woolley
Office: 360-786-7676
Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Dan Kristiansen
Republican, Snohomish
Office: 360-786-7967
Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Carolyn Eslick
Republican, Sultan
Office: 360-786-7816
Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov

44th District

Senate
Steve Hobbs
Democrat, Lake Stevens
Office: 360-786-7686
Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
John Lovick
Democrat, Mill Creek
Office: 360-786-7804
Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Mark Harmsworth
Republican, Mill Creek
Office: 360-786-7892
Email: mark.harmsworth@leg.wa.gov

TV coverage

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org.

Legislature website

Information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: leg.wa.gov.

News from Olympia

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield reports from the Capitol: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield/

On Twitter: @dospueblos

Talk to us

More in Local News

Everett
Man hurt in house fire east of Everett

The home in the 12400 block of 51st Avenue SE was reported on fire at 12:54 a.m.

A wanted suspect was arrested after a standoff with law enforcement Tuesday night. (Bothell Police Department)
Kidnapping suspect arrested after standoff in Bothell

A large police presence contained the property in the 20500 block of 32nd Dr. SE on Tuesday night.

Community Transit's Lynnwood microtransit pilot project is set to launch this fall with a service area around the Alderwood mall. (Community Transit)
Lynnwood’s microtransit test begins this fall, others possible

Community Transit could launch other on-demand services in Arlington, Darrington and Lake Stevens.

Doctor Thomas Robey sits in a courtyard at Providence Regional Medical Center on Thursday, Aug. 11, 2022, in Everett, Washington. (Ryan Berry / The Herald)
‘It’d be a miracle’: Providence tests new treatment for meth addiction

Monoclonal antibodies could lead to the first drug designed to fight meth addiction. Everett was chosen due to its high meth use.

Rev. Barbara Raspberry, dressed in her go-to officiating garments, sits in the indoor chapel at her home, the Purple Wedding Chapel, on Tuesday, Aug. 9, 2022, in Everett, Washington. The space used to be two bedrooms, but she and her husband Don took down a wall converted them into a room for wedding ceremonies the day after their youngest son moved out over 20 years ago. The room can seat about 20 for in-person ceremonies, plus it serves as a changing room for brides and is the setting for virtual weddings that Raspberry officiates between brides and their incarcerated fiancees at the Monroe Correctional Complex. (Ryan Berry / The Herald)
Everett’s oh-so-colorful Purple Wedding Chapel is in the red

Rev. Rasberry has hitched hundreds of couples over the years. After her husband died, she’s unsure if she can keep the place.

Everett
Man dies in motorcycle crash that snarled I-5 in Everett

Washington State Patrol: he tried to speed by another driver but lost control and hit the shoulder barrier.

Washington Secretary of State Steve Hobbs, right, a Democrat, and Pierce County Auditor Julie Anderson, left, running as a nonpartisan, take part in a debate, Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2022, in Olympia, Wash., with Melissa Santos, center, of Axios Local, moderating. Hobbs and Anderson are seeking to fill the remaining two years of the term of Republican Secretary of State Kim Wyman, who left to take a key election security job in the Biden administration. (AP Photo/Ted S. Warren)
Sparks fly as Hobbs, Anderson face off in secretary of state debate

Julie Anderson called Steve Hobbs an “inexperienced political appointee.” He’s been in the job since Inslee put him there in November.

Zion Wright, 6, makes a face as Cecilia Guidarrama starts to massage cold facial cleanser onto his face during Evergreen Beauty College’s annual back-to-school beauty event on Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2022 in Everett, Washington. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
Dozens of kids get free back-to-school haircuts in Everett

For hours on Wednesday, training beauticians pampered families at the Everett campus of Evergreen Beauty College.

Jose Espinoza Aguilar appears in court via video for arraignment Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2022, at Snohomish County Superior Court in Everett, Washington. (Ryan Berry / The Herald)
Prosecutors: ‘Danger’ shot man in head ‘without provocation or warning’

Jose Espinoza Aguilar had just been released from prison in May for another shooting. He now faces charges of first-degree assault.

Most Read