How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

The 2018 session of the Washington Legislature in Olympia runs from Jan. 8 to March 8.

The 2018 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 60 days but don’t be shocked if it lasts longer. Lawmakers toiled a record-setting 193 days in 2017, a marathon in which they wrote a new state budget and worked out a solution to the vexing problem of public school funding. However, they left a small pile of unfinished business for this year.

60 Days: In odd years, when a new two-year budget is adopted, the Legislature meets for 105 days. In even years it is 60 days. Last scheduled day: March 8, 2018.

137,000: Approximate average population per Washington legislative district.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for senators and representatives at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline enables callers to track the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You also can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. That information can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.

1st District

Senate
Guy Palumbo
Democrat, Maltby
Office: 360-786-7600
Email: guy.palumbo@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Derek Stanford
Democrat, Bothell
Office: 360-786-7928
Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Shelley Kloba
Democrat, Kirkland
Office: 360-786-7900
Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov

10th District

Senate
Barbara Bailey
Republican, Oak Harbor
Office: 360-786-7618
Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Norma Smith
Republican, Clinton
Office: 360-786-7884
Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Dave Hayes
Republican, Camano Island
Office: 360-786-7914
Email: dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov

21st District

Senate
Marko Liias
Democrat, Lynnwood
Office: 360-786-7640
Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Strom Peterson
Democrat, Edmonds
Office: 360-786-7950
Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Lillian Ortiz-Self
Democrat, Mukilteo
Office: 360-786-7972
Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

32nd District

Senate
Maralyn Chase
Democrat, Shoreline
Office: 360-786-7662
Email: maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Cindy Ryu
Democrat, Shoreline
Office: 360-786-7880
Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Ruth Kagi
Democrat, Seattle
Office: 360-786-7910
Email: ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

38th District

Senate
John McCoy
Democrat, Tulalip
Office: 360-786-7674
Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
June Robinson
Democrat, Everett
Office: 360-786-7864
Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Mike Sells
Democrat, Everett
Office: 360-786-7840
Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

39th District

Senate
Keith Wagoner
Republican, Sedro-Woolley
Office: 360-786-7676
Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
Dan Kristiansen
Republican, Snohomish
Office: 360-786-7967
Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Carolyn Eslick
Republican, Sultan
Office: 360-786-7816
Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov

44th District

Senate
Steve Hobbs
Democrat, Lake Stevens
Office: 360-786-7686
Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1
John Lovick
Democrat, Mill Creek
Office: 360-786-7804
Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2
Mark Harmsworth
Republican, Mill Creek
Office: 360-786-7892
Email: mark.harmsworth@leg.wa.gov

TV coverage

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org.

Legislature website

Information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: leg.wa.gov.

News from Olympia

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield reports from the Capitol: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield/

On Twitter: @dospueblos

Talk to us

More in Local News

Police: Multi-county chase ends when suspect rams patrol car

Sheriff’s deputies initially responded to reports of a vehicle theft and hit-and-runs in Lynnwood.

Housing Hope’s playfield proposal splits planning commission

After a 3-3 vote on the land-use changes, no recommendation will be given to the Everett City Council.

Teenagers charged in trio of robberies in Snohomish County

They allegedly stole cash, cigarettes and marijuana from shops in Everett, Lynnwood and Bothell.

County grows ‘no-shooting’ zone after bullet just misses child

The Snohomish County Council voted Wednesday to prohibit shooting in two areas on Monroe’s outskirts.

COVID-19 updates about returning to school

Public Health Essentials! A blog by the Snohomish Health District.

Police: Burglars stole thousands in cash from Mukilteo home

Officers shared images of the suspects and are asking for help identifying them.

Inmate, 34, dies at the Snohomish County Jail

The sheriff’s Major Crimes Unit is investigating. There were no obvious signs of what caused his death.

Marysville offers another round of CARES Act grants

Funds are available for those who need help paying for housing or business expenses amid COVID-19.

Most Read