Formula One Champions

2009 — Jenson Button, Britain, Brawn GP

2008 — Lewis Hamilton, Britain, McLaren-Mercedes

2007 — Kimi Raikkonen, Finland, Ferrari

2006 — Fernando Alonso, Spain, Renault

2005 — Fernando Alonso, Spain, Renault

2004 — Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari

2003 — Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari

2002 — Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari

2001 — Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari

2000 — Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari

1999 — Mika Hakkinen, Finland, McLaren-Mercedes

1998 — Mika Hakkinen, Finland, McLaren-Mercedes

1997 — Jacques Villeneuve, Canada, Williams-Renault

1996 — Damon Hill, Britain, Williams-Renault

1995 — Michael Schumacher, Germany, Benetton-Renault

1994 — Michael Schumacher, Germany, Benetton-Ford

1993 — Alain Prost, France, Williams-Renault

1992 — Nigel Mansel, Britain, Williams-Renault

1991 — Ayrton Senna, Brazil, McLaren-Honda

1990 — Ayrton Senna, Brazil, McLaren-Honda

1989 — Alain Prost, France, McLaren-Honda

1988 — Ayrton Senna, Brazil, McLaren-Honda

1987 — Nelson Piquet, Brazil, Williams-Honda

1986 — Alain Prost, France, McLaren-TAG

1985 — Alain Prost, France, McLaren-TAG

1984 — Niki Lauda, Austria, McLaren-TAG

1983 — Nelson Piquet, Brazil, Brabham-BMW

1982 — Keke Rosberg, Finland, Williams-Ford

1981 — Nelson Piquet, Brazil, Brabham-Ford

1980 — Alan Jones, Australia, Williams-Ford

1979 — Jody Scheckter, South Africa, Ferrari

1978 — Mario Andretti, United States, Lotus-Ford

1977 — Niki Lauda, Austria, Ferrari

1976 — James Hunt, Britain, McLaren-Ford

1975 — Niki Lauda, Austria, Ferrari

1974 — Emerson Fittipaldi, Brazil, McLaren-Ford

1973 — Jackie Stewart, Britain, Tyrrell-Ford

1972 — Emerson Fittipaldi, Brazil, Lotus-Ford

1971 — Jackie Stewart, Britain, Tyrrell-Ford

1970 — Jochen Rindt, Austria, Lotus-Ford

1969 — Jackie Stewart, Britain, Matra-Ford

1968 — Graham Hill, Britain, Lotus-Ford

1967 — Denny Hulme, New Zealand, Brabham-Repco

1966 — Jack Brabham, Australia, Brabham-Repco

1965 — Jim Clark, Britain, Lotus-Climax

1964 — John Surtees, Britain, Ferrari

1963 — Jim Clark, Britain, Lotus-Climax

1962 — Graham Hill, Britain, BRM

1961 — Phil Hill, United States, Ferrari

1960 — Jack Brabham, Australia, Cooper-Climax

1959 — Jack Brabham, Australia, Cooper-Climax

1958 — Mike Hawthorn, Britain, Ferrari

1957 — Juan Manuel Fangio, Argentina, Maserati-Mercedes

1956 — Juan Manuel Fangio, Argentina, Mercedes-Benz

1955 — Juan Manuel Fangio, Argentina, Lancia-Ferrari

1954 — Juan Manuel Fangio, Argentina, Maserati

1953 — Alberto Ascari, Italy, Ferrari

1952 — Alberto Ascari, Italy, Ferrari

1951 — Juan Manuel Fangio, Argentina, Alfa Romeo

1950 — Guiseppe Farina, Italy, Alfa Romeo

Talk to us

More in Sports

Arlington sophomore wrestler Tre Haines grabs the leg of his teammate during practice on Wednesday, Nov. 29, 2023 in Arlington, Washington. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
Arlington wrestlers aim for more postseason success

The Eagles feature a standout trio of state placers from last season, including a state champion and runner-up.

The Everett Elite Flag Football 14-under team practices Sunday morning at Harbour Pointe Middle School in Mukilteo, Washington on January 16, 2022. (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
Community roundup: MP grad Davis earns silver with Fiji national team

Trina Davis helps Fiji women’s soccer at the Pacific Games, hammer throwers earn All-American nod, and locals take home collegiate all-league honors.

Arlington’s Dustin Baxter flexes after winning the 170 pound weight class match on Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2023 in Arlington, Washington. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
Extra time with clubs helps Arlington wrestlers Baxter, Haines excel

Before high school, Dustin Baxter and Tre Haines wrestled together on an Arlington-based club team.

Prep roundup for Wednesday, Dec. 6

Prep results for Wednesday, Dec. 6: (Note for coaches/scorekeepers: Report results and… Continue reading

Lake Stevens head coach Tom Tri hugs quarterback Kolton Matson after the Vikings’ victory against Graham-Kapowsin in the WIAA 4A Football State Championship on Saturday, Dec. 2, 2023, at Husky Stadium in Seattle, Washington. (Ryan Berry / The Herald)
Patterson: Lake Stevens reaches dynasty level with 2nd state title

The Vikings join an exclusive group of Snohomish County football history.

Vote for The Herald’s Prep Athlete of the Week for Nov. 27-Dec. 3

The Athlete of the Week nominees for Nov. 27-Dec. 3. Voting closes… Continue reading

Prep roundup for Tuesday, Dec. 5

Prep results for Tuesday, Dec. 5: (Note for coaches/scorekeepers: Report results and… Continue reading

Tips show they can hang with best in split with Prince George

Everett played a pair of tight games against the WHL’s top team, despite missing some key pieces.

Prep roundup for Monday, Dec. 4

Prep results for Monday, Dec. 4: (Note for coaches/scorekeepers: Report results and… Continue reading

Lake Stevens players celebrate Jesse Lewis’ second-half touchdown against Graham-Kapowsin during the WIAA 4A Football State Championship on Saturday, Dec. 2, 2023, at Husky Stadium in Seattle, Washington. (Ryan Berry / The Herald)
Back to back!: Lake Stevens wins 4A state football title

The Vikings beat Graham-Kapowsin 31-6 for their second straight Class 4A state championship.

Lake Stevens senior Jesse Lewis takes a short pass all the way for a first half touchdown against Graham-Kapowsin during the WIAA 4A Football State Championship on Saturday, Dec. 2, 2023, at Husky Stadium in Seattle, Washington. (Ryan Berry / The Herald)
Notebook: Lake Stevens’ Jesse Lewis has best game on biggest stage

Plus, key adjustments for the Vikings defense and Kolton Matson’s impact with his legs.

Washington running back Dillon Johnson (7) celebrates with teammates after a touchdown against Oregon during the second half of the Pac-12 championship NCAA college football game Friday, Dec. 1, 2023, in Las Vegas. (AP Photo/David Becker)
Huskies receive No. 2 seed, face Texas in CFP semifinals

Washington gets a postseason rematch in the Sugar Bowl. Michigan gets the No. 1 seed.

Support local journalism

If you value local news, make a gift now to support the trusted journalism you get in The Daily Herald. Donations processed in this system are not tax deductible.