Fiske, Brossman honored

  • Tony Dondero<br>Enterprise writer
  • Monday, March 3, 2008 11:55am

Shoreline Community College honored baseball player Tyler Fiske and women’s soccer player Stephanie Brossman as its Male and Female Athletes of the Year at the school’s athletic department banquet June 11.

Fiske raised his batting average nearly 100 points, hitting a team-high .341 as a sophomore. He smacked nine doubles, two triples and three home runs while driving in 28 runs. His consistency at the plate earned him first-team North Division honors.

“This year it came together,” said the 2005 Lake Stevens graduate. “A lot of hard work in the offseason with weights and hitting in cages. Plus I think the year of experience prior to this year helped a lot too.”

Defensively, Fiske has one of the better arms of third basemen in the Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges, Shoreline head coach Steve Seki said. But Fiske also played some second base when the team needed him to, which showed “how unselfish he is,” Seki said.

Fiske said he received “offers from quite a few schools,” to play Division I baseball but he’s decided to walk on at the University of Washington next year.

“I didn’t feel like I wanted to go away and play,” he said.

Fiske, who maintained a 3.76 grade point average and earned his associate’s degree in arts and sciences, plans to major in business.

“He’s the type of kid we want to get at Shoreline, one who excels on the field and in the classroom, ” Seki said. “He’s set a good tone for the whole program for years to come.”

Shoreline finished fifth in the NWAACC North Division with an 11-13 record and 15-25 mark overall.

As for Brossman, she enjoyed a stellar sophomore season after having to sit out the previous year.

Brossman, a 2005 Ballard High School graduate, transferred to Shoreline in the fall of 2005 after a month at Willamette University in Salem, Ore. She was unable to get eligible so she practiced with the Dolphins and attended games.

This year, she returned ready to play and took on the important role as a center midfielder and co-captain.

“She showed a lot of maturity and leadership this year,” Shoreline coach Mark Szabo said.

The Dolphins barely had enough players to field a team, but managed to go 10-4-4 and win the NWAACC North. They lost to Spokane, the eventual NWAACC champions, in the quarterfinals of the playoffs.

“It was a lot of fun,” Brossman said. “Definitely not having a whole bunch of players brought the team together more. We had to support each other off and on the field.”

Brossman maintained about a 3.7 GPA at Shoreline and finished her studies last fall. She earned an All-Academic Award from the NWAACC. She plans to pursue a business degree at the University of Washington starting in the fall.

“The past couple years being at Shoreline and being part of the team made it a lot more fun,” she said. “It’s always been a big added bonus to play for a school.”

Other honorees at the college’s banquet included the following:


Margory Benavente, team Most Valuable Player; Northern Region, First Team

Jamilee Kempton, Northern Region, Second Team

•Men’s soccer

Bobby McDonough, North/South Division All-Star; All-Academic Award

Steven Neff, team MVP

•Women’s soccer

Amanda Zueger, North/South Division All-Star; North Division Most Valuable Player

Stephanie Brossman, North/South Division All-Star; All-Academic Award

Ashlee Togerson, team MVP

Maggie Tonkin, Academic Leadership Award, All-Academic Award


Ali Jordan, Northern Region, First Team

Cami Halstead, Northern Region, Second Team, team MVP

Lindsylee Wheadon, Northern Region, Second Team


Tyler Fiske, Northern Region, First Team, All-Academic Award, team MVP

Cheynne Hirota, Northern Region, First Team

Justin Weckhorst, Northern Region, Second Team

Tyler Starkel, All-Academic Award

Brock Roper, All-Academic Award

Ryan Gorle, All-Academic Award

•Men’s tennis

Edgardo Longoria, All-Academic Award, team MVP

Setondji Nahum, All-Academic Award

Daniel Lum, All-Academic Award

•Women’s tennis

Ashai Naya, All-Academic Award, team MVP

Anique Thieme, All-Academic Award

Nicole Christenson, All-Academic Award.

Talk to us