Jackson’s Kirton garners another honor

  • <br>Enterprise staff
  • Thursday, February 28, 2008 10:33am

Jackson running back Johnie Kirton has picked up another player-of-the-year honor. Kirton, already named the Gatorade and Associated Press high school football player of the year for Washington, has been selected the Class 4A offensive player of the year on the Washington-Preps.com all-state team. Kirton was also chosen as a first-team running back.

Also on the first team offense are Bothell wide receiver Travis McKee and Kamiak lineman Bobby Dockter.

Snohomish lineman Mike Mayer and Mariner linebacker Trenton Tuiasosopo were named to the first-team defense.

The second team included Bothell quarterback Tony Gardiner; Mariner offensive lineman Tony O’Dell; Oak Harbor defensive lineman Nate Metcalf, who also earned honorable mention at tight end; Oak Harbor linebacker Blake Ward, and Bothell defensive back Russ Wacker.

Earning honorable mention were running backs Glenn Gallagher of Edmonds-Woodway and Seth Setterberg of Shorewood; wide receiver/defensive back Wade Gurnett of Shorewood; offensive linemen Jess Tait of Mariner, Steve Palmer of Bothell, Scott Allanson of Jackson and Chris Raimundi of Oak Harbor; defensive linemen Phil Jordan of Everett and Derrick Knox of Mariner; linebacker Mike Shea of Lake Stevens; defensive backs Adam Diaz of Oak Harbor and Ken Mishima of Mariner; placekicker Ace Younggren of Snohomish; punter Blake Snow of Cascade, and kick returner Pat Job of Snohomish.

In Class 1A, Archbishop Murphy’s Jevon Butler, the AP player of the year, was named the offensive player of the year. Butler was also chosen as a first-team running back and defensive back.

Teammates Doug VanderWel (defensive line) and Wes Taylor (linebacker) were named to the first team defense. Offensive linemen Nate Thompson and Dave Burdick and defensive back Kyle Wilkins were named to the second team. Defensive lineman Ben Waiss received honorable mention.

In Class 3A, Shorecrest wide receiver Shane Hoffman was named to the second team. The Scots’ A.J. Collins received honorable mention as a linebacker.

Meadowdale defensive lineman Kegan Gorman, kicker Bobby Peck and punter Eric Marty also received honorable mention.

Talk to us