MLT’s Sonmore named VP for Cities & Towns group

  • <br>Enterprise staff
  • Monday, March 3, 2008 6:41am

MOUNTLAKE TERRACE — City Council member Laura Sonmore was recently elected Vice President of the Association of Snohomish County Cities &Towns for 2005.

The association is a nonprofit organization created to develop and promote policies, legislation, and regulations that benefit the cities and towns of Snohomish County.

The association meets as a whole on a bi-monthly basis, and the executive board meets an additional six times a year. Mayors, Council members, city managers, and other city staff members attend dinner meetings that include current topics of interest to the cities and towns of Snohomish County. These meetings serve all citizens of Snohomish County by increasing awareness and communication between cities, promoting inter-city cooperation, and increasing the county’s exposure in Olympia.

Officers for 2005 were elected at the January meeting hosted by the city of Mill Creek. In addition to Sonmore, other officers are: Deanna Dawson, Edmonds City Council member, President; and Lynn Walty, Lake Stevens Mayor, Secretary/Treasurer. Liz Loomis, city of Snohomish Mayor, was elected to serve as the Mayor at Large on the Executive Board, and Marysville Council member John Soriano was elected as the Council member at Large. Linda Carl, senior executive assistant to Edmonds Mayor Gary Haakenson, acts as administrative assistant to the board.

Member cities are those with all or a portion of their boundaries within the county and are current on their yearly dues. Snohomish County cities that participate in the Association are: Arlington, Bothell, Brier, Darrington, Edmonds, Everett, Gold Bar, Granite Falls, Index, Lake Stevens, Lynnwood, Marysville, Mill Creek, Monroe, Mountlake Terrace, Mukilteo, Snohomish, Stanwood, Sultan, and Woodway.

Talk to us