Northwest A League honors spring athletes

  • <br>Enterprise staff
  • Thursday, February 28, 2008 10:07am

Four Archbishop Murphy players earned Northwest A League first-team, all-league recognition.

Infielder/pitchers Nick Karthas and Jeff Arkell were selected to the first team for baseball. Wildcats coach Ed Gay was named co-coach of the year with Concrete’s Jim Newby.

Pitcher Kristen Linscott and infielder Lindsay Shandera were honored with first-team softball honors.

Northwest A League baseball

Most valuable player: Jose Sanchez (Concrete).

Co-coaches of the year: Ed Gay (Archbishop Murphy), Jim Newby (Concrete).

First team: outfielder Nate LeSourd (LaConner); catcher Fletcher Vynne (Friday Harbor); infielder/pitcher Dale Horton (Coupeville), Nick Karthas (Archbishop Murphy), Jeff Arkell (Archbishop Murphy); utility Kyle Wilson (Concrete), Jesse Breckenridge (LaConner); infielders Brady Ryan (Friday Harbor); Joey Peninger (Concrete), Elliot Thomsen (Friday Harbor).

Second team: infielder pitcher Shane Welch (Orcas), Chris Mitchell (Archbishop Murphy); infielders Zach Lefton (Orcas), Brandon Hoover (Concrete), Andrew Westphalen (Friday Harbor); catcher Mark Wittaker (Coupeville); outfielder Casey Mitchell (Coupeville), Tony Decker (LaConner), Damon Woodward (Friday Harbor); pitcher Josh Oosterhof (LaConner).

Northwest A League softball

Player of the Year: Sissy Carlton (Friday Harbor).

Coach of the Year: Kevin Carlton (Friday Harbor).

First team: pitchers Kristen Linscott (Archbishop Murphy), Sissy Carlton (Friday Harbor); infielders Lindsay Shandera (Archbishop Murphy), Samantha Pritchard (Concrete), Kimmy Clancy (Orcas), Erica Percich (Friday Harbor), Lauren Brem (Friday Harbor); outfielders Alicia Harris (Concrete), Erica Lamb (Coupeville), Christina Ruble (La Conner).

Second team: pitcher Valerie Plummer (Orcas); infielders Holly DeGroot (La Conner), Leslie Coonc (La Conner), Megan Sanders (Orcas), Christine Larson (Coupeville), Stacy Farmer (Coupeville), Jennifer Carter (Concrete); outfielders Jackie Lewis (Concrete), Kelsea Peterman (Friday Harbor), Cassie Brophy (Friday Harbor).

Talk to us