How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

This year it’s a 60-day session in Olympia. Democrats control everything.

The 2020 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 60 days.

Democrats will once again enjoy a trifecta of political power with control of the House, Senate and governor’s mansion. Republicans will seek to find bipartisan agreement on issues such as improving mental health services and funding special education.

One task that will consume lawmakers is adjusting the state transportation budget to reflect a potential loss of millions of dollars due to passage of Initiative 976.

60 days: In even years, the Legislature meets for two months. In odd years, when a two-year operating budget is adopted, lawmakers meet for 105 days. Last scheduled day this year: March 12, 2020.

152,000: Approximate average population per Washington legislative district.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.


1st District

Senate

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


10th District

Senate

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

Ron Muzzall

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: Ron.Muzzall@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Republican, Clinton

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


38th District

Senate

John McCoy

John McCoy

John McCoy

Democrat, Tulalip

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: jared.mead@leg.wa.gov


How to monitor their work

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org

Legislature website, for information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: leg.wa.gov

News from Olympia by Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield, @dospueblos

Talk to us

More in Local News

Chickens on pasture at Skylight Farms in Snohomish. (Petrina Fisher)
As bird flu spreads to 7 counties, Snohomish County farms on watch

No cases of avian flu have been confirmed here. But its arrival could be devastating for poultry farmers.

A ferryboat. (Washington State Ferries)
Mukilteo-Clinton ferry riders get their two-boat service back

The Edmonds-Kingston route could be next, depending on COVID-19 cases and crew shortages.

Norris the plains zebra grazes on some grass Wednesday, May 4, 2022, at Flying M Ranch and Horses in Lake Stevens, Washington. (Ryan Berry / The Herald)
Norris the zebra is fitting in with his new herd near Lake Stevens

Black-and-white stripes are a vibrant pop against the farmland at Flying M Ranch and Horses in rural Snohomish County.

Herald photographers are out and about, capturing scenes from across Snohomish County.
Photography: the extracurricular shots

Herald photographers are out and about, capturing scenes from across Snohomish County.

Logo for news use featuring the municipality of Mukilteo in Snohomish County, Washington. 220118
Mukilteo man missing for over 24 hours found dead

Kook Byung Choi, 84, was found in woods near where he went missing in Mukilteo.

Juan Luna, left, and Jeff Austin tune up bicycles to be donated Tuesday afternoon at Sharing Wheels Community Bike Shop in Everett, Washington on May 10, 2022.  (Kevin Clark / The Herald)
Afghanistan, Ukraine refugees get bikes, bus passes and rides

One nonprofit needs volunteers to repair 40 kids bikes for refugees. Another agency could use cash gift cards.

Sarah Alper works on packing a Community Supported Agriculture box at Lowlands Farm on Tuesday, May 10, 2022 in Snohomish, Washington. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
In Snohomish County, CSA produce boxes are safety nets for small farms

Community Support Agriculture programs give farmers guaranteed income, regardless of freak weather or hungry deer.

A woman was struck by a car while crossing HIghway 99 on Dec. 2, 2021. (Lynnwood Police Department)
Woman charged in Highway 99 death of Lynnwood pedestrian, 72

Prosecutors allege Tachelle Thomas was under the influence of THC when she hit and killed Fozieh Shirdelhefzabad, 72, in 2020.

Everett
Public bathrooms downtown, cleanup program approved by Everett council

The City Council voted on how to spend $1.1 million in relief funds, including a three-year “Clean Everett” plan.

Most Read