How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

This year it’s a 60-day session in Olympia. Democrats control everything.

The 2020 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 60 days.

Democrats will once again enjoy a trifecta of political power with control of the House, Senate and governor’s mansion. Republicans will seek to find bipartisan agreement on issues such as improving mental health services and funding special education.

One task that will consume lawmakers is adjusting the state transportation budget to reflect a potential loss of millions of dollars due to passage of Initiative 976.

60 days: In even years, the Legislature meets for two months. In odd years, when a two-year operating budget is adopted, lawmakers meet for 105 days. Last scheduled day this year: March 12, 2020.

152,000: Approximate average population per Washington legislative district.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.


1st District

Senate

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


10th District

Senate

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

Ron Muzzall

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: Ron.Muzzall@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Republican, Clinton

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


38th District

Senate

John McCoy

John McCoy

John McCoy

Democrat, Tulalip

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: jared.mead@leg.wa.gov


How to monitor their work

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org

Legislature website, for information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: leg.wa.gov

News from Olympia by Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield, @dospueblos

Talk to us

More in Local News

“We are still trying to figure out what to do with him,” said Everett Police Department property crimes Det. Adam Gage, who transports the statue back to a room using a rolling chair on Tuesday, April 13, 2021 in Everett, Washington.The Batman statue was recovered after it was stolen from an Everett comic book store last year.  (Andy Bronson / The Herald)
Batman returns! Stolen Funko statue is in police custody

The supersized bobblehead was taken from Everett Comics in an October “smash-and-grab.”

Eric Adler, the mystery man who is on Twitter as @EdmondsScanner (E. Wong)
Revealed: The mystery man behind the @EdmondsScanner tweets

He’s a 50-year-old mail carrier who dusted off his English degree to curate 6,000 tales on Twitter.

As eligibility expands, 4,700 flock to local vaccine clinics

It might be difficult to secure a dose right away in Snohomish County, but keep trying, officials say.

Father who fled state with 3 sons arrested in New Mexico

Richard Burke reportedly didn’t trust masks or vaccines. He was charged with custodial interference.

Brian Baird, a former congressman who lives in Edmonds, hopes to create a National Museum and Center for Service in Washington, D.C. (contributed photo)
‘The time is right’ to honor helpers, says former congressman

Brian Baird, of Edmonds, is working to establish a National Museum and Center for Service in D.C.

Man identified in fatal Mill Creek crash

Ian Jensen, 32, died after a multi-vehicle accident Saturday on 35th Avenue SE.

Package funding U.S. 2 trestle, Monroe bypass on the move

A $17.8 billion plan dealing with highways, ferries and transit has cleared the state Senate transportation panel.

Explosion shatters Everett apartment complex windows

Police were called to the Monte Cristo apartment complex, 2929 Hoyt Ave., Tuesday night.

Firefighters work to put out a blaze at a house in the Meadowdale area of Edmonds early Saturday morning.  (South County Fire)
Man, woman seriously injured in Meadowdale house fire

They were taken to Harborview Medical Center. Three other adults and a dog escaped with no injuries.

Most Read