How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

This year it’s a 60-day session in Olympia. Democrats control everything.

The 2020 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 60 days.

Democrats will once again enjoy a trifecta of political power with control of the House, Senate and governor’s mansion. Republicans will seek to find bipartisan agreement on issues such as improving mental health services and funding special education.

One task that will consume lawmakers is adjusting the state transportation budget to reflect a potential loss of millions of dollars due to passage of Initiative 976.

60 days: In even years, the Legislature meets for two months. In odd years, when a two-year operating budget is adopted, lawmakers meet for 105 days. Last scheduled day this year: March 12, 2020.

152,000: Approximate average population per Washington legislative district.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.


1st District

Senate

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


10th District

Senate

How to contact your state lawmakers — and other fun facts

Ron Muzzall

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: Ron.Muzzall@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Norma Smith

Republican, Clinton

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


38th District

Senate

John McCoy

John McCoy

John McCoy

Democrat, Tulalip

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov


House Position 1

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


House Position 2

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Jared Mead

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: jared.mead@leg.wa.gov


How to monitor their work

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org

Legislature website, for information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: leg.wa.gov

News from Olympia by Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield, @dospueblos

Talk to us

More in Local News

Owners of Feedme Hospitality get together with Edmonds Chamber of Commerce staff to hand off a check that helped with costs of putting on the Edmonds Kind of 4th annual Independence Day celebration. The money came from lemonade stand sales. In the photo are Andrew Leckie, Shubert Ho, Greg Urban, Erica Sugg and Alicia Moreno.  (Edmonds Chamber of Commerce)
Way to go

Lemonade stand raised $2,350 for An Edmonds Kind of 4th The Feedme… Continue reading

Mukilteo Council candidates (top L-R): Louis Harris, Peter Zieve, Tina Over, Ayesha Riaz Khan, Kevin Stoltz; (bottom L-R): Caitlein Ryan, Tom Jordal, Steve Schmalz, Tim Ellis, Carolyn “Dode” Carlson, Alex Crocco.
11 candidates in races for 3 seats on Mukilteo City Council

New and familiar names will face off in the primary to narrow the field to six for the November election.

COVID-19 case reported at crowded Lynnwood council meeting

A person who attended the Monday meeting tested positive for the coronavirus just days later.

Carlo Ponte (Rebecca Ponte) 20210729
‘Endangered’ Marysville toddler missing for almost 3 weeks

Jorge Ponte picked up his son for a scheduled visit July 10. Then they disappeared.

Abuse claims settled; Catholic principal worked in Everett

The allegations are from Sister Dolores Crosby’s time at a Seattle school from 1979 to 1992.

Daniel Scott (center, in green jacket) and Eddie Block (bottom right) are shown in a video before the Proud Boys and other rioters stormed the U.S. Capitol building on Jan. 6 in Washington, D.C.
Arlington Proud Boy ‘Milkshake’ indicted in Capitol siege

Daniel Lyons Scott faces 10 federal charges, including assaulting federal officers.

Ten people were injured in a three-vehicle rollover crash Sunday afternoon that closed both directions of U.S. 2. (Washington State Patrol)
10 people hurt in three-vehicle crash on U.S. 2 near Monroe

A 14-year-old was taken to Harborview Medical Center, plus six more Everett and Monroe hospitals.

$500,000 available for Edmonds nonprofits

Organizations can apply for Edmonds Rescue Plan funds until Aug. 20.

Top row (L-R): Lacey Sauvageau, Don Schwab, Jacob L. Vail. Bottom row (L-R): Demi Chatters, Kelly Fox, Ben Zarlingo.
Wave of first-time candidates who seek Everett council posts

Three people in each of two races are running to represent the city’s newly formed Districts 3 and 5.

Most Read