AquaSox’s Sloan named NWL’s Executive of Year

The year 2010 was a banner year for Brian Sloan and the Everett AquaSox. The Sox won their first Northwest League championship since becoming the AquaSox in 1995, giving Everett its first title since the team won the championship as the Giants in 1985.

And for Sloan, Everett’s general manager, the year was polished off with a cherry on top.

Sloan was honored by the league this week as he was named the Northwest League’s Executive of the Year for his efforts on behalf of the team and the league.

“I was totally surprised and shocked by it, Sloan said via cell phone from Orlando, Fla., where he’s attending baseball’s winter meetings and where he was presented with the award Monday. “I’m extremely proud to represent the Northwest League in that capacity, and that I was able to contribute and improve things with the league.”

Sloan won the award based on a vote by the league’s owners and general managers. He is the first Everett executive to win the award since former owner Mark Sperandio was honored in 2001.

Sloan has been a member of Everett’s front office since 1996, and he’s served as the general manager of the Seattle Mariners short-season single-A affiliate the past six years. This was the first time he’s been recognized by the league, as well as his first award in 20 years working in minor-league baseball.

“It’s funny that it’s my 20th year in minor-league baseball and it’s the first time I’ve been a part of a championship season, and the first time I’ve won a league award,” Sloan said. “The 20th year was definitely good for me.”

Sloan was honored this year not just because of Everett’s success on the field. Sloan spearheaded the efforts to restructure the league’s playoff format. Prior to this season the playoffs consisted of a five-game league championship series between the winners of the East and West Divisions. This season the 76-game schedule was split into halves, with the first-half and second-half winners in each division squaring off in a best-of-three divisional series. The winners of the divisional series moved on to a best-of-three championship series.

The format change was received well by the league as four teams advanced to the playoffs instead of two.

“The league recognized the research and work I did in implementing that system,” Sloan said. “And it’s worked out. Everyone has embraced the new system. I think that’s why I was rewarded.”

Sloan accepted the award during a ceremony in Orlando, in which the Executive of the Year winners were honored from all 16 minor leagues.

Talk to us

More in Sports

New England Patriots quarterback Cam Newton (1) passes as Seattle Seahawks linebacker Bruce Irvin (51) closes in during the first half of their game Sunday at CenturyLink Field. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)
Grading the Seahawks’ 35-30 victory over the Patriots

Seattle grades out strongly in yet another classic encounter between the two teams.

In this Oct. 14, 2014, file photo, the Seattle Seahawks’ Richard Sherman (25) talks with New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady after the Seahawks won 24-23 at CenturyLink Field. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)
POLL: What’s your favorite Seahawks-Patriots game?

The two franchises have played some doozies since Russell Wilson arrived as Seattle’s quarterback.

County Hall of Fame Class of 2020: 72-73 Meadowdale football

The then-Chiefs finished with a perfect 10-0 record and outscored opponents 248-66.

Former New England Patriots receiver Phillip Dorsett II is inactive for the Seattle Seahawks for Sunday’s game, meaning he won’t be playing against his former team. (AP Photo/Elise Amendola)
Seahawks vs. Patriots inactives: Dorsett sits again

Starting receivers Edelman and Harry are active for New England after being listed as questionable.

Noisy Seahawks fans will be absent for Sunday’s home opener

Seattle will be without its deafening homefield advantage on Sunday night against New England.

Meet the 9 new members of the Snohomish County Sports HOF

The class includes legendary teams, athletes, coaches and voices from the area.

Mariners top Padres, snap losing skid

Kyle Lewis homers as Seattle beats San Diego 4-1 to end a four-game losing streak.

County Hall of Fame Class of 2020: Sherrie Chambers-Wilson

The 1981 Snohomish High School graduate was named Female Athlete of the Year by USA Judo in 1995.

Sue Bird (left) and Breanna Stewart are looking to lead the Seattle Storm to the WNBA championship, just as they did in 2018. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)
POLL RESULTS: Readers have big belief in the Seattle Storm

More than three-quarters of the voters picked the Storm to claim the WNBA championship.

Most Read