Arlington Eagle Festival art and haiku winners

Arlington Eagle Festival winners

Art contest winners

Garvin Currell was the overall winner in the art contest

Placing second was Debra Hoskins and third Jay Newman

Nature/Photo: First place, Debra Hoskins; second place, Robert Funston; third place, Berta Baker

Nature/Painting: First, Vicki Johnson; second, Monica Bretherton; third, Vicki Johnson

Mixed Media: First, Candis Morth; second, Glen Zachary; third, Karen Lewis

Youth to age 10: First, Ava Gilles Arnold; second, Tzadkiel Fontenhouse; third, Lily Fontenhouse

Youth to age 17: First, Mikayla Ostreim; second, Jessa Campbell; third, Michael Willard

Eagle Festival Haiku Winners

Kindergarten – 5th grade

First place: Galilea Valverde

river blue and cold

talons sharp eagle soars proud

run salmon life’s short

Second place: Sophia M.

soaring high in sky

diving down to eat some mice

I’ll go to my nest

Third place: Brayden Ingalls

orcas rule the seas

on the top of the food chain

apex predator

6th–12th grade

First place: Elizabeth Dickson

the cool mist clinging

droplets on web like flies trapped

caught in silken strands

Second place: Sierra Schmitz

crushed by heavy boots

the colorful leaves crumble

free of shape at last

Third place: Samantha Sky Hatch

to the sky I said

why are you so blue my sky

you are forever my name


First place: Judy Tilley

attaining freedom

fledgling eagle proudly soars

swapping nest for sky

Second place: Pat Cavit

white wings on grey skies

cold respite in sodden fields

welcome winter guests

Third place: Joanne B. Peterson

proud boy nets first trout

sudden splash fish flies away

eagle wins the prize

Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office’s awards

The 2018 award recipients includes employees, volunteers and civilians.

The awards will be presented over the next few months at roll call, community meetings and other events in lieu of the annual awards ceremony, which was cancelled due to inclement weather.

“I’m proud to honor sheriff’s office employees, our citizens and volunteers for their outstanding work and heroic acts,” said Sheriff Ty Trenary. “Snohomish County is fortunate to have these men and women who go above and beyond to keep our communities safe.”

Sheriff’s Award: Rebecca Koontz

Sheriff’s Award: Snohomish County Violent Offender Task Force

Distinguished Service Medal: deputy Lucas Robinson

Meritorious Service Medals: deputies James Kunard, Tyler Pendergrass, Jon Barnett and Tim Leo, DOC officer Scott Lee and Sgt. David Crandall

Certificates of Merit: deputy Jason Moe and Sgt. Marcus Dill

Citizen Medal of Valor: Donna Irby

Sgt. John Taylor Supervisor of the Year: Sgt. Roxanne Marler

Deputy Joe Ward Detective of the Year: David Fontenot

Deputy of the Year: deputy Mike Wilson

Corrections Deputy of the Year: corrections deputy Erik Wold

Civilian Employee of the Year: Courtney O’Keefe

Clarence Robertson Reserve Deputy of the Year: reserve deputy Craig O’Neill

Volunteer of the Year: chaplain Alice Anderson

Explorer of the Year: explorer Thomas Thorne

Life Saving Medals & Awards

MPD Zac Brown

Deputies Matt Boice, Evan Twedt, Joseph Odom, Jessica Olson, Thomas Parmeter, Jeff Miner, Matt Eichelberger, Zach DeVenney and Brandon Charboneau

Sgt. Russell Jutte

Crew chiefs Paul Moutray and Randy Fay

Flight medic Alex Jenness

Medic Richard Duncan

Rescue technicians Andy Toyota, Ernie Zeller and Dave Zulinke

Corrections deputies Elias Chavez, Scott Warnken, Shaun Murray, Susan Freeman, Kyle Younger, Todd Munson, John Gross, John “Craig” McIntyre and Cheryl Cooper

Nurses Dawn Young, Debbie Meader, Gabriel Delamerced, Autumn Kostelecky and Joyce Marrero

Nancy Abell

Certificates of Merit

Air Force 304th Rescue Squadron

Health Services Administrator Alta Langdon

Detective Tedd Betts

SCVSAR Volunteers Edwin Prada, Bob Brady and Dietrich Biemiller

Sgt. Jess Geoghagan,

Detective Chris Simpson

Crime Analyst Sandy Perez

Corrections deputies Bernard DeGuzman and Jean Moormeier

Deputies: Evan Twedt, John Sadro, Kevin Pelleboer, Nathan Smith and Matt Boice

Svein Torvik

Letters of Commendation

Booking support officers Veronica Sepulveda and Jodi Martin

Chief Chad Schmidt and Capt. Brandon Bates of Snohomish County Fire District 21

Deputies Even Twedt, Art Wallin, Chad Daugherty, Jason Sandt, Nathan Smith, Jonathan Krajcar, Molly Thunder, Patrick McGrath, Blake Iverson, Gabriel Cimino, Tyler Pendergrass and Joe Davis

Sgts. Alonzo Downing, Joan Gwordske and Roxanne Marler

Corrections deputies James Norris and Sgt. Matthew Mattson

Detectives James Headrick and Tyler Quick

Law enforcement technician Jon Stewart

Volunteer Marilyn Clark

Talk to us

More in Local News

A worker disassembles a fluidized bed incinerator at the Edmonds Wastewater Treatment Plant on Thursday, Sept. 16, 2021 in Edmonds, Wa. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
In Edmonds, $26M goes to a cleaner way to get rid of poop

The city will reduce its wastewater carbon footprint by dumping an incinerator and using new technology.

The Voting Commissioners of the Washington State Redistricting Commission released draft Legislative District maps Tuesday. (Washington State Redistricting Commission)
Early maps of legislative districts endanger some incumbents

Under one redistricting proposal, Mill Creek joins Everett. Under another, Monroe joins Wenatchee.

Tuesday's career fair will be at Everett Community College, which incidentally is also one of the participants. (Sue Misao / Herald file)
Snohomish County Career Fair set for Tuesday at EvCC

Job seekers can connect with more than 40 employers at this year’s annual event.

Driver who died in Everett car crash identified

Thomas Ogden, 43, was driving Tuesday morning on Rucker Avenue at 41st Street when another car crashed into his.

Granite Falls altercation: Dog killed, man shot in head

A 20-year-old man allegedly shot an intruder, 54, who threatened two people and killed their dog.

Man found dead in Mountlake Terrace homeless camp identified

Oscar Banos Mejia, 40, was discovered in the bushes along the Interurban Trail on Friday afternoon.

Police respond to a crash in which Isaiah Funden, 24, of Marysville, died after his motorcycle collided with a car Monday morning on the Snohomish River Bridge. (Everett Police Department)
Motorcyclist who died in Everett bridge crash identified

The Marysville man, 24, was involved in a collision with a car and ejected into the Snohomish River.

Callie Childers 20210921
Car of slain Marysville woman was set on fire

Her body was found along a remote stretch of U.S. 2, east of Stevens Pass. Her car was found near Snohomish.

Sound Transit CEO Peter Rogoff (center) takes a ride on light rail from the Angle Lake Station in Seatac with King County Executive Dow Constantine (left) on Sept. 21, 2016. (Ian Terry / Herald file)
CEO of fast-growing Sound Transit system to step aside

The search will begin soon to replace Peter Rogoff, who leads the multibillion-dollar transportation network.

Most Read