How to contact your state lawmakers

The 2014 session of Washington’s Legislature began Jan. 13 but it wasn’t until last Tuesday that our delegation in Olympia was settled. After the resignation of state Sen. Paull Shin on Jan. 7, two seats in the 21st District were in flux. Those seats have been filled, so here now is the complete list of state lawmakers in the seven districts of Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email or phone.

Messages can also be left for senators and representatives at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline enables callers to track the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. For more information, check out the Legislature website at www.leg.wa.gov.

1st District

Senate

Rosemary McAuliffe, Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: rosemary.mcauliffe@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Derek Stanford, Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Luis Moscoso, Democrat, Mountlake Terrace

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov

10th District

Senate

Barbara Bailey, Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Norma Smith, Republican, Clinton

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Dave Hayes,

Republican, Camano Island

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov

21st District

Senate

Marko Liias,

Democrat, South Everett

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Mary Helen Roberts, Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self,

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

32nd District

Senate

Maralyn Chase, Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Cindy Ryu, Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Ruth Kagi, Democrat, Seattle

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

38th District

Senate

John McCoy, Democrat, Tulalip

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

June Robinson, Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Mike Sells, Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

39th District

Senate

Kirk Pearson,

Republican, Monroe

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Dan Kristiansen,

Republican, Snohomish

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Elizabeth Scott,

Republican, Monroe

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: elizabeth.scott@leg.wa.gov

44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs,

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Hans Dunshee,

Democrat, Snohomish

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: hans.dunshee@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Mike Hope,

Republican, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: mike.hope@leg.wa.gov

Keeping track

TV coverage

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org

Official Legislature website

Information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: www.leg.wa.gov

News from Olympia

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield reports from the Capitol: Heraldnet.com/politics

More in Local News

Snohomish mayoral candidates have very little in common

Karen Guzak and John Kartak are vying for the new position.

Second teen charged after $1 million in school vandalism

Two teens now face felony charges for damage at two schools in Darrington last summer.

Charged in stabbing, his long list of felonies could grow

The Arlington man is accused of attacking a man who interrupted a possible burglary in Everett.

A potentially transformative council election in Snohomish

As the city adopts a new form of government, many new faces are seeking office.

Mill Creek hires Gina Hortillosa as public works director

Hortillosa will be responsible for creating strategic infrastructure plans to promote economic growth.

1 shot dead, another wounded in apparent Everett robbery

There are indications the victims might have known the shooter, who apparently fled in a vehicle.

No third term for Snohomish County Prosecuting Attorney Mark Roe

He quietly has been letting staff and community leaders know that he plans to retire in December 2018.

Ballots are going out and voting will soon begin

In Snohomish County, one of the marquee contests is in Everett where voters are choosing a new mayor.

Most Read