How to contact your state lawmakers

The 2014 session of Washington’s Legislature began Jan. 13 but it wasn’t until last Tuesday that our delegation in Olympia was settled. After the resignation of state Sen. Paull Shin on Jan. 7, two seats in the 21st District were in flux. Those seats have been filled, so here now is the complete list of state lawmakers in the seven districts of Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email or phone.

Messages can also be left for senators and representatives at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline enables callers to track the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. For more information, check out the Legislature website at www.leg.wa.gov.

1st District

Senate

Rosemary McAuliffe, Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: rosemary.mcauliffe@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Derek Stanford, Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Luis Moscoso, Democrat, Mountlake Terrace

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov

10th District

Senate

Barbara Bailey, Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Norma Smith, Republican, Clinton

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Dave Hayes,

Republican, Camano Island

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov

21st District

Senate

Marko Liias,

Democrat, South Everett

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Mary Helen Roberts, Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self,

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

32nd District

Senate

Maralyn Chase, Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Cindy Ryu, Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Ruth Kagi, Democrat, Seattle

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

38th District

Senate

John McCoy, Democrat, Tulalip

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

June Robinson, Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Mike Sells, Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

39th District

Senate

Kirk Pearson,

Republican, Monroe

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Dan Kristiansen,

Republican, Snohomish

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Elizabeth Scott,

Republican, Monroe

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: elizabeth.scott@leg.wa.gov

44th District

Senate

Steve Hobbs,

Democrat, Lake Stevens

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov

House Position 1

Hans Dunshee,

Democrat, Snohomish

Office: 360-786-7804

Email: hans.dunshee@leg.wa.gov

House Position 2

Mike Hope,

Republican, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: mike.hope@leg.wa.gov

Keeping track

TV coverage

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel and website: www.tvw.org

Official Legislature website

Information on lawmakers, bills, committee hearings, floor votes and existing laws: www.leg.wa.gov

News from Olympia

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield reports from the Capitol: Heraldnet.com/politics

More in Local News

Families begin relocating from public housing complex

Baker Heights is in need of repairs deemed to costly to make, and will be demolished and replaced.

Trail work by juvenile offenders builds resumes, confidence

Kayak Point trails were built out this year by groups from Denney Juvenile Justice Center.

Small fire breaks out at haunted house in Everett

Plastic that was supposed to be noncombustable was sitting next to a hot lightbulb.

Rules of the road for ‘extra-fast pedestrians’ — skateboarders

State traffic law defines them as pedestrians, and yet they are often in the middle of the street.

Distress beacon leads rescuers to Pacific Crest Trail hikers

Two men in their 20s had encountered snow and waited two nights for a helicopter rescue.

City of Everett to give $400K to a nonprofit housing project

The city expects to enter a contract with HopeWorks, an affiliate of Housing Hope.

Everett mayoral campaign is one of the priciest ever

Many campaign donors are giving to both Cassie Franklin and Judy Tuohy.

Some damage undone: Thousands of heroin needles removed

Hand Up Project volunteers cleaned up a patch of woods that some of them had occupied near Everett.

Volunteers clean up homeless camp infested with garbage

The organization’s founder used to live and do drugs in the same woods.

Most Read