All-Area girls basketball teams

  • Fri Mar 9th, 2012 5:38pm
  • Sports

Herald staff

The 2011-12 All-Area Girls Basketball Team, as selected by a vote of coaches, Herald writers and fans.

Player of the Year: Brooke Pahukoa, Lake Stevens, Jr., Guard

Coach of the Year: Everett Edwards, Lynnwood

Despite losing his star post Mokun Fajemisin over the summer to a torn anterior cruciate ligament, Edwards was able to keep his team on course and lead the Royals to a Wesco 3A regular-season title.

All-Area First Team


Brooke Pahukoa, Lake Stevens, Jr. The junior guard scored 15.6 points per game and averaged five rebounds, three steals and three assists a game in leading Lake Stevens to a Wesco North title and 4A Distict 1 championship.

Brianne Lasconia, Shorecrest, Sr. The senior point guard guided Shorecrest to a 3A District 1 championship, averaging 17.7 points, 4.6 rebounds, 3.6 steals and 3.0 assists per game.

Margreet Barhoum, Meadowdale, Sr. The senior guard was the leading scorer in Wesco, averaging more than 21 points per game, and helped the Mavs on a late-season push — Meadowdale won eight of its final 10 games — to make the district playoffs.


Kristin Stoffel, Jackson, Sr. The senior post scored 14.2 points per game and was a leader on a Timberwolves team that won the Wesco South, finished second in districts and took home a trophy at state for the first time in the program’s history.

Beth Carlson, Archbishop Murphy, Jr. Playing on a torn anterior cruciate ligament for much of the latter part of the season, the junior post helped lead the Wildcats deeper in the district playoffs than any other Cascade Conference team.

All-Area Second Team

G—Julia Young, Snohomish, Sr.

G—Katie Hawkins, Glacier Peak, Sr.

G—Madeline Kasper, Edmonds-Woodway, Sr.

P—Paisley Heckman, Stanwood, Sr.

P—Joclyn Kirton, King’s, Sr.

Others receiving votes: Katie Goddard, Lake Stevens; Sierra Anderson, Jackson; Jasmin Edwards, Lynnwood; Renee Lucero, Stanwood; Sidney Reilly, Everett; Kate Blackwell, Kamiak; Peyton Spencer, Granite Falls; Casey Evans, Lynnwood; Taylor Rasmussen, Glacier Peak; Masha Shtikel, Shorewood; Onyie Chibuogwu, Shorecrest; Meghan Cross, Lynnwood; Kianna Hood, Cascade; India Matheson, Shorecrest; Rachel Swartz, Stanwood; Janie Uppinghouse, Shorecrest; Lindsay Brown, Arlington; Dani Markwood, Sultan; Abby Molstre, Lake Stevens