Rochester comes from behind to beat Edmonton for NLL title

  • By Aaron Lommers Herald Writer
  • Saturday, May 19, 2012 11:24pm
  • SportsSports

Going into Saturday night’s National Lacrosse League Champion’s Cup, one thing was certain — the champion would have a below .500 record in the regular season. The only question was which team would it be, the Edmonton Rush or the Rochester Knighthawks.

In the early going, all signs pointed to Edmonton, but the Knighthawks came staged a furious rally in the second half to claim the franchise’s third championship, winning 9-6.

It was an impressive playoff run for both team’s who came into the playoffs as underdogs, but each reeled off impressive runs to reach the title game.

Edmonton’s Zach Greer scored the game’s only goal of the first period and Edmonton added four more in the second, taking a 5-1 lead into halftime.

Then the Rush ran into Rochester goalkeeper Matt Vinc, who held the Rush scoreless for 26 minutes and 22 seconds of game time. By the time the Rush had scored again, the Knighthawks had turned a 5-1 deficit into an 8-5 lead. Ryan Ward’s goal with six minutes left in the fourth period got the Rush to within two, but Vinc remained stellar down the stretch, keeping the Rush off the board the rest of the way.

Vinc saved 46 of the 52 shots he saw on the night.

Offensively the Knighthawks were led by Cody Jamieson, who scored four goals and added four assists. Seven of his eight points came in the second half. After the game, Jamieson was named the game’s Most Valuable Player.

Johnny Powless and Mike Accursi each added two goals for the Knighthawks.

Greer led Edmonton with two goals and two assists.

It was the Knighthawks first championship since 2007 when they defeated Arizona, who folded prior to the 2009 season.

Edmonton lost in its first ever trip to the championship game.

More in Sports

WSU defensive lineman voted a first-team All-American

Washington’s Pettis and WSU’s O’Connell make the second team; UW’s Vea earns a spot on the third team

Community roundup: Local runners help win a national title

Club Northwest won the Men’s Masters division at the USATF National Club Cross Country Championships

It’s official: NL MVP Stanton now slugging for the Yankees

The Yankees announce they have acquired the slugger from the Marlins in a four-player deal

VIDEO: An introduction to competitive orienteering

Several Snohomish County high schools compete in the Washington Interscholastic Orienteering League.

BLOG: Carter Hart named WHL Goalie of the Week (yes, again)

Carter Hart has been named the WHL Goaltender of the Week for… Continue reading

An ugly ending as Seahawks lose to Jaguars, 30-24

The other bad news: The Jacksonville Jaguars intercepted Russell Wilson three times.

All Cs and Ds: Grading the Seahawks in loss to Jaguars

Seattle’s defensive unit earns one of its lowest marks of the season.

Seahawks gave the Jaguars a scare in the fourth quarter

Down 27-10, Seattle rallied with a pair of long touchdown passes.

Silvertips run their winning streak to nine straight

Bryce Kindopp scores the winning goal with 18 remaining in a 4-3 victory over Tri-City

Most Read