Title night at Evergreen

  • By Scott Whitmore Herald writer
  • Sunday, September 9, 2007 11:01pm
  • SportsSports

MONROE – On the same night that the field was set for the season-ending championship run in the Nextel Cup series, Evergreen Speedway crowned two new champions in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series.

Lane Sundholm held on to his razor-thin lead to win the second-tier bomber division title Saturday night and Chuck Richard won the championship in the third-tier mini-stock division.

“I wanted to be here, and I kept pushing every weekend trying to get here,” Sundholm said while standing on the victory podium, champagne dripping from his hair from car owner Naima Lang pouring a bottle over his head after the race. “And it paid off, by what? One point? Two points?”

Sundholm actually won his first title with a three-point margin over Darrel Lutovsky, who leap-frogged Travis Blackwood to finish second in the division. Blackwood was third, four points behind Sundholm.

The race to the title wasn’t close in the mini-stock division.

Richard started the night with a commanding 42-point lead over No. 2 Kris Harriss and clinched his first championship in 15 years of racing by taking the green flag in the feature main race.

“I’ve been close (to a title) before,” Richard said before the race. “So to come into tonight with a points lead takes all the stress out of it. I can actually sit back and enjoy the race.”

Scott Powell won his first-ever feature in the final mini-stock race of the year, with Richard coming in second and Rod Helmuth finshing third. Harriss, who won the rookie of the year title, came in fifth place in the race and finished second in the points battle, 50 points behind Richard.

All of the drama in the evening surrounded the bomber championship, which came down to which of the top three drivers in the points battle crossed the finish line first.

Sundholm entered the night leading the division by one point over Blackwell and he was three points ahead of Lutovsky.

After the four bomber heat races were completed, Sundholm’s lead was just two points over both Blackwell and Lutovsky, who were knotted in second after Lutovsky won his heat, setting up a winner-take-all A main.

But first they had to get to the A main.

During the second heat race, Steve Peters with Sundholm on his rear bumper looking for a way to get around him got loose in turn 1 and bumped Blackwell, who was on the outside trying to pass.

Blackwell, who was disqualified from a race earlier in the season for an on-track altercation with Sundholm, said later that he thought Peters had been pushed into him by Sundholm. Although that appeared to be true from the grandstand, both track officials and Sundholm said it did not happen.

After the heat, Sundholm and Blackwell came to a halt and engaged in a stare-down after bumping cars on the way to the pits. Peters then went around Sundholm and stopped his car next to Blackwell’s and both began to back towards Sundholm, who began backing away from them.

Track officials briefly considered disqualifying all three a decision that would have greatly impacted the title battle by putting Lutovsky in the lead. Instead, warnings were issued to Peters, Sundholm and Blackwell,­ and the championship was decided on the track.

Scott Mann passed Peters on lap 8 and then ran away with the bomber A main, winning the 40-lap race by several car lengths. Sundholm finished the race second, just ahead of Lutovsky, with Blackwell coming in fourth.

The fact that Lutovsky finished second in the division standings was a testament to his consistency throughout the year as his earlier heat victory was his first win in either a heat or main race.

“That’s better than I expected,” Lutovsky said of coming in second in points. Reminded that he had also gotten his first win, Lutovsky added with a smile: “I could’ve used a couple more.”

More in Sports

Art Thiel: For Sherman, 3 minutes of free agency was plenty

It’s easy for some fans to villainize the cornerback for leaving, but in fact, the team left him.

Best of the Mariners poll, part 11: Designated hitters

Cast your vote for the best-ever season by a Seattle Mariners designated hitter.

Edmonds-Woodway’s Kyra Collingridge throws a pitch against Mountlake Terrace’s Jenna Maxfield Wednesday afternoon at Mountlake Terrace High School on March 21, 2018. Edmonds-Woodway won 7-5. (Kevin Clark / The Daily Herald)
Edmonds-Woodway softball tops Terrace 7-5 in 8 innings

Heidi Davis’ 2-run single gave the Warriors over the Hawks to open the Wesco 3A schedule.

Mariners reliver Phelps to miss season with arm injury

Mike Zunino hits three home runs in Seattle’s win over Milwaukee.

Tight end Luke Willson leaves Seahawks for Detroit

Willson spent the first five seasons of his NFL career in Seattle

‘Snacks’ Norvell provides huge spark for low-key Gonzaga

The charismatic redshirt freshman has upped his game in leading the Bulldogs to the Sweet 16.

BLOG: Silvertips clean up in Western Conference awards

The WHL announced its conference all-stars and award winners Wednesday… Continue reading

Wednesday’s prep results, links to recaps

Here are Wednesday’s prep results, with links to box scores: BASEBALL Wesco… Continue reading

Keegan Rubio runs through drills during practice Friday afternoon at Glacier Peak High School in Snohomish on March 17, 2018. (Kevin Clark / The Daily Herald)
Boys soccer preview: Glacier Peak senior has a rocket shot

Keegan Rubio’s prolific scoring ability comes from his dad, Vasco.

Most Read