Tuesday deadline for property-tax election ballots

  • Sun Feb 12th, 2012 9:15pm
  • News

Herald staff

EVERETT — Voters in the Arlington, Darrington, Edmonds, Granite Falls and Monroe school districts have a deadline Tuesday to return their ballots in property tax levy elections.

Those ballots must have a Tuesday postmark or placed in drop boxes around the county by Tuesday.

Ballot drop boxes are located at the Arlington Library, 135 N. Washington Ave.; Edmonds Library, 650 Main St.; Everett Courthouse Campus, Rockefeller Avenue and Wall Street; Lynnwood Library, 19200 44th Ave. W.; Marysville Municipal Court, 1015 State St.; and Monroe Library, 1070 Village Way.

State law requires that school districts periodically ask voters to consider renewal of the school portion of the local property tax levy.

The levies on the ballot are not for new taxes but are replacements for property tax collection programs that expire this year.

Garth Fell, Snohomish County elections manager, expects the election to be certified Feb. 28.

School web sites include information on the individual school levy elections.