2022 lawmakers
2022 lawmakers

2022 lawmakers

How to contact Snohomish County’s state lawmakers in 2022

With this set to be another virtual legislative session, a phone call or email will be your best means of reaching them.

The 2022 session of Washington’s Legislature begins Monday in Olympia. It is scheduled to last 60 days.

Get set for a second year of remote legislating as the COVID-19 pandemic rages on.

Here’s the drill, if you forgot:

• Committee hearings will all be virtual. Just like last year. Those wishing to testify must do so remotely via Zoom. Floor sessions in each chamber will be conducted with a minimal number of lawmakers and staff present. Access to galleries will be limited to a few vaccinated souls, including reporters.

• Fortunately, TVW will provide live gavel-to-gavel coverage on cable and streaming online.

• Legislative leaders intend to reassess the situation every couple of weeks. If there is a calm in the coronavirus storm, more lawmakers may be welcomed back for in-person floor debates. But don’t count on it.

Meanwhile, Democrats continue to enjoy a trifecta of political power with control of the House, the Senate and the governor’s mansion. Republicans will continue to press hard, and sometimes loudly, an agenda that offers sharp contrasts in approach on fiscal and social policies.

Most legislators are up for election this year. That should spice up rhetorical exchanges in legislative debates. And it should keep folks motivated to finish on time so they can hit the campaign trail. Remember, they will be running in districts with new boundaries — once the mess around redistricting maps is cleared up.

Last scheduled day this year: March 10.

Below are the lawmakers in the seven districts serving Snohomish and Island counties and how to reach them by email and phone.

Messages can also be left for any of them at the Legislative Hotline, 800-562-6000. The hotline is a place to check the progress of bills and learn when hearings or legislative action are planned. You can sign up to receive emails of upcoming committee meetings, press releases from agencies and other legislative events. Information to do that can be found on the Legislature website at leg.wa.gov.

Snohomish County legislative districts

1st District

Senate

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Derek Stanford

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7600

Email: derek.stanford@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Davina Duerr

Democrat, Bothell

Office: 360-786-7928

Email: davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Shelley Kloba

Democrat, Kirkland

Office: 360-786-7900

Email: shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov


 

10th District

Senate

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Ron Muzzall

Republican, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7618

Email: Ron.Muzzall@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Greg Gilday

Republican, Camano Island

Office: 360-786-7884

Email: greg.gilday@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Dave Paul

Democrat, Oak Harbor

Office: 360-786-7914

Email: dave.paul@leg.wa.gov


 

21st District

Senate

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Marko Liias

Democrat, Lynnwood

Office: 360-786-7640

Email: marko.liias@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Strom Peterson

Democrat, Edmonds

Office: 360-786-7950

Email: strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Lillian Ortiz-Self

Democrat, Mukilteo

Office: 360-786-7972

Email: lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov


 

32nd District

Senate

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Jesse Salomon

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7662

Email: jesse.salomon@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Cindy Ryu

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7880

Email: cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Lauren Davis

Democrat, Shoreline

Office: 360-786-7910

Email: lauren.davis@leg.wa.gov


 

38th District

Senate

June Robinson

June Robinson

June Robinson

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7674

Email: june.robinson@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Emily Wicks

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7864

Email: emily.wicks@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Mike Sells

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7840

Email: mike.sells@leg.wa.gov


 

39th District

Senate

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Keith Wagoner

Republican, Sedro-Woolley

Office: 360-786-7676

Email: keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

Republican, Granite Falls

Office: 360-786-7967

Email: robert.sutherland@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Carolyn Eslick

Republican, Sultan

Office: 360-786-7816

Email: carolyn.eslick@leg.wa.gov


 

44th District

Senate

John Lovick

John Lovick

John Lovick

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7686

Email: john.lovick@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 1

Brandy Donaghy

Brandy Donaghy

Brandy Donaghy

Democrat, Everett

Office: 360-786-7804

Brandy.Donaghy@leg.wa.gov


 

House Position 2

April Berg

April Berg

April Berg

Democrat, Mill Creek

Office: 360-786-7892

Email: april.berg@leg.wa.gov


 

How to participate and keep tabs on them

To testify at committee hearing: app.leg.wa.gov/csiremote

TVW, the state’s public affairs channel: www.tvw.org

Washington Legislature: www.leg.wa.gov

Herald political writer Jerry Cornfield: www.heraldnet.com/author/jerry-cornfield | @dospueblos on Twitter

Talk to us

More in Local News

Clyde Shavers, left, and Greg Gilday.
Shavers wins by narrow margin as Dems flip seat in 10th District

Democrat Clyde Shavers won by 211 votes against incumbent state Rep. Greg Gilday. It’s close enough for a recount.

Arlington
Edmonds man hospitalized after shooting in Arlington

The man, 30, was found Monday night in the 500 block of N. Macleod Avenue after reports of an assault.

Snow lingered outside the office building of Receivables Performance Management on Thursday, Dec. 1, 2022, in Lynnwood, Washington. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
Lynnwood data breach exposed sensitive info for 3.7 million across US

Lawsuits allege lax security at a debt collection agency led to the attack. It wasn’t announced for over a year.

The Washington State Patrol was investigating a fatal crash involving multiple vehicles Thursday on Highway 530 near Oso. (Washington State Patrol)
Fatal crash closes Highway 530 near Oso

There was no detour Thursday afternoon as detectives investigated the crash.

Teen killed in Everett crash, shooting identified

No arrests have been made in the Friday night killing of 17-year-old Gabriel Kartak, of Seattle.

The crab doughnut at Market in Edmonds is a strange delight, with a sweet and dense glazed doughnut topped with bright and briny dungeness crab salad, nutty browned butter and a shower of smoky bacon bits. (Taylor Goebel / The Herald)
This idyllic dining destination is right in Snohomish County

Edmonds boasts fresh seafood, Caribbean-inspired sandwiches, artisan breads, cocktails and more.

Marysville Jail (City of Marysville)
Man with hepatitis C accused of spitting on Marysville jail staff

Hepatitis C is usually spread through blood. The suspect, 28, faces allegations of exposing the officers to a contagious disease.

NO CAPTION. Logo to accompany news of Washington state.
Medicare open enrollment ends Dec. 7

Find information and resources to help make the best choice for you.

Sunlight illuminates a framed photograph of Mila and Wilfrido Sarmiento while their daughter Rowella Sarmiento cries reading her statement to the court during Caleb Wride’s sentencing on Monday, Nov. 28, 2022 in Everett, Washington. (Olivia Vanni / The Herald)
At sentencing, family mourns parents killed in fatal DUI crash

Caleb Wride, 23, of Everett, was sentenced Monday for the head-on crash that killed Mila and Wilfrido Sarmiento.

Most Read